AtE Arc 1: Chapter 1

It begins!!! My new series: After the Ending, the Magical Girl Earnestly Hides Her True Identity. Yes, that title is damn long, so I’ll be referring to it as AtE when I release chapters for it. Speaking of which, it’s not just the title that’s long, but the entire series as well. It’s a whooping 499 chapters! 46 whole arcs! Like……damn. It’s long. I’ve been enjoying it based on what I’ve translated so far, so I hope everyone else enjoys it too! Hopefully I’ll manage to keep it up until the end, but we shall see~

Regarding the release schedule for this series, it won’t be a weekly or bi-weekly series. Since I’m translating CSWH from the beginning again, it’ll be a little difficult to manage that many releases. Plus the chapters for this series are considerably longer, though it differs at times. Hence, I’ve decided to try to make this series a monthly release, with one arc being released per month. Stories are just more enjoyable when you can read it all at once, ya know? And I feel like this is one of those stories where it’s better to read it arc by arc. However, the arcs do vary in length and get longer as time goes by, so the release schedule is subject to change. I make no promises, but I shall try my best.

In any case, hope you enjoy the first arc of AtE, as a part of Kiriko’s Krazy Kristmas Kat MASS RELEASE~ Merry Christmas!!!


AtE Arc 1: The Magical Girl’s Return – Chapter 1

—-the moment when the world was wrapped in the darkness of despair, 7 heroes rose up.

—-the 7 heroes wielded completely different powers, and became the hope that repelled the darkness.

 

The legend’s catchphrase.

That which was nothing more than a fairy tale became reality merely twenty years ago.

And like that fairy tale, peace was brought to the world but a mere four years ago.

 

Through one of God’s so-called whims, I transmigrated when I was 6 years old.

After suddenly receiving a message saying that I had the special privilege of transmigrating, etc etc, I became counted as one of the seven heroes.

My power was undoubtedly the strongest and unparalleled. Imitating the fairy tale, I was a magician that “grants wishes”. Wearing a unique magical costume, I ran through a battlefield that washed away blood with blood for four years. 16 years ago from now, I defeated the villain that named itself as the Demon King when I was 10 years old, and peace returned to the world.

Within such a harsh battle, they attained bonds as close as that of siblings that surpassed the boundary of both gender and age. They were praised by the people, and during the present time when that despair once again became a fairy tale, they were treated like idols.

 

Except for one.

Me alone.

 

“Having recovered the ordinary days, the heroes received praise, except for one who returned to the heavens in order to protect them…….somehow, doesn’t it seem like you’re being treated like you died? This thing.”

 

The one in front of me, whose face crumbled into a fed up expression was, well, an excessively good-looking man.

Long slit eyes, and well-arranged red hair. Though he appeared slender, one could see his well-toned body from the gaps in his clothing. This man, who was turning 34 this year, was one of my “work friends” from the past.

 

“It’s fine. She died. The hero that they know of no longer exists.”

 

Currently, I was in a completely private room in a bar as I hung my head while saying that.

Possibly as a consequence of partnering up with a conveyer belt sushi bar, both the cooked dishes and drinks of this bar were carried down a lane alone the wall.

This store where you don’t see even a single employee was convenient for us.

 

“Died, you say. You know, wouldn’t it be better to just come forward?”

“The edges of your mouth are laughing, you know. Prominence Eater (Crimson Monarch).”

“Oops, do excuse me. Magician-dono?”

 

One of the 7 heroes.

At the time he was 14 years old with full-blown chuunibyou. He was precisely that ultimate flame user, the one referred to as Prominence Eater. His name was Kujou Shidou.

 

“How am I supposed to come forward?”

“Well, you know…bufu–…just transform, right?”

“Shut up. Go to hell.”

 

As I grumbled while continuing to hang my head, Shidou clutched his stomach while laughing at me. It pissed me off, so I drained the high-priced sake that he had ordered, but there weren’t any signs of his laughter stopping.

If I could transform and appear in front of society, then I’d do that. Honestly, it was hard for a “magic user” like myself to live in this world where, ever since that battle, had become one with an “ESPer Supremacy Doctrine”.

However, transforming equals nothing other than having to show that forbidden appearance.

 

My ability is “Magic—–“.

A magician that fulfills dreams. A hero of legend that waves a magic staff, while freely using magic that seems to come straight from a fairy tale.

 

“If it’s ‘that’, then the name of hero will die out, is it? Ku…hahahaha!”

“Yes, yes, that’s right!”

 

Indeed.

That repulsive appearance that I don’t want to even remember.

When I introduced myself at the reunion that was called the Assembly of the Seven Heroes, a storm of laughter exploded in the meeting place, and a female hero comrade that I adored like an older sister was seriously made to cry from the trauma of that forbidden appearance.

But please wait. The one who wants to cry is me.

 

I was promised status and prestige.

I shouldn’t have been troubled by money.

No, if I wished for it, I’d probably be able to get it. If I had the resolve to come forth in society as a hero in “that” appearance, then there wouldn’t be any problems.

 

However, there’s no way I could have such resolve.

It feels like all I can do right now, is use all my might to karate chop the head of Shidou, who was still rolling around laughing even now.


Project Page | Next Chapter–>

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in AtE and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to AtE Arc 1: Chapter 1

  1. Pingback: AtE Arc 1: Chapter 2 | Kiriko Translations

  2. Hungry Bug-Cat says:

    Oooh! Kiriko-chan is translating again? Or did i just out of the Loop? The last time i remember, you stop Wordmaster and become the Red head Nekomimi Otherwolrder at the Palette world?

    Like

  3. kirindas says:

    Merry Christmas! Thanks for picking up this series!

    Like

  4. lazybuns says:

    Omg thank you so much for picking this up!!!!! I’ve been lamenting over how I read a dropped novel and I can’t undo it months ago ;W; so happy this was picked up again. Looking forward to future chapters! good work! ^^

    Like

  5. christina says:

    Thank you very much

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.