CSWH Chapter 124

CSWH Chapter 124: Close Friend’s Love

One week after the important persons from Rinmel Principality returned to their country, time passed as though nothing had happened.

No……it was possible that something had happened underneath the surface, but it passed without any being exposed to the public.

After the guests from Rinmel Principality returned safely, the atmosphere within the country regained its calm bit by bit.

And at the same time, all of the students that had left the Academy due to the aforementioned guests from Rinmel Principality all returned.

After dropping off my luggage, it was just around the time when one could eat breakfast, so I headed towards the dining hall.

Eating breakfast at the dining hall was not mandatory, so there were a sparse number of students inside.

After taking my seat, there was no need to wait very long before a dining hall employee left a plate with breakfast arranged on it in front of me.

“Good morning.”

Just when I was about to start eating, Sharia sat in the seat in front of me.

“Oh, good morning.”

I temporarily put by knife and fork down, and fixed my gaze on Sharia.

“Your party dress was very lovely. Even though it was the same dress, it was interesting to see how its feel completely changed suddenly midway through the party. As expected of you, Mellice.”

“I am happy to hear that. I thought I may have overdone it a little, so I was somewhat nervous about it.”

“Oh……is that true?”

Perhaps because my response was unexpected, Sharia’s eyes grew round.

“……could I also ask you something?”

It was just around the time Sharia’s meal arrived.

I took up my knife and fork, and gave a prayer before beginning to eat.

After chewing the one bite I had eaten and swallowing it, I put down the knife and fork.

“So, what is it that you wished to ask?”

“Why did you dance during that party’s dance?”

Hearing my question, Sharia momentarily stiffened.

I did not say with whom she had danced with.

It was not a very precise question.

Even so, it appeared that Sharia quickly grasped the purpose of the question.

Her state in which she was clearly unable to hide her agitation was cute.

“That’s……um, I was asked to dance.”

And then, she squeezed out an answer with a tiny voice, as her face exposed a faint flush.

Seeing that, I could not help but sigh.

Just when in the world had such a development occurred?

……after all, just by seeing her reaction, it was clear that she wasn’t at all dissatisfied with the development……though whether or not she was self-aware of that fact was unknown.

That is why I could not simply overlook it.

It will be difficult for her wish to be realized, and even if it were realized, nothing but hardship would await her.

Even though I knew that, I could not stop her.

……that was partially because I had some understanding of Sharia’s nature, and above all else, it was because I was also the same.

Before becoming engaged to Rui……I had anguished as my feelings for him grew stronger, suffered as I thought about the distance between us in reality, and then worried about how our future paths would not intersect. When I thought about my feelings from back then, I could understand just how difficult it would be to stop them.

“……this may be a selfish desire of mine, but please do not worry alone. Do not suffer all on your own.”

Upon hearing the mutterings that exited my mouth as I thought to myself, Sharia smiled.

Her smile was beautiful and radiant.

“Thank you, Mellice.”

And then, after we finished eating, we left the dining hall and headed towards the study tower.

Perhaps because there were many people absent, our first lesson in a while did not go through as much material as it would have prior to the break.

In exchange, the class went a lot faster than usual.

When the lesson ended, I did not return to the dorm, instead choosing to find an empty classroom in the study tower to watch the training of those belonging to the Knight Department from a special seat.

“……is it interesting?”

Just when I thought I sensed a presence, it turned out to be Sharia……and I let out a relieved sigh.

“Yes, it is. Sometimes I get to see some unexpected movements, so it’s quite enlightening.”

“Um…does Rui know about how you’ve trained……?”

“He knows about it…….rather, he even said that it’s fine for me to be as I am.”

“……how wonderful.”

Sharia quietly murmured.

That her words rang in a somewhat desolate manner was by no means just my imagination.

“Why were you attracted to that person?”

“Attracted, you say……”

“Oh, am I wrong? From my eyes, that is how it appears.”

Hearing my words, Sharia let out a small sigh and smiled.

“Is there a need for a particular reason?”

“Eh?”

“Does one need a reason to like someone? -is what I meant.”

I reflexively laughed at Sharia’s words.

“That’s true…….no matter what sort of reason one tries to make up, it’s all after the fact. Regardless of what the impetus was, once you fall in love, that’s that.”

“Yup…….I originally thought that I absolutely wouldn’t fall in love with him. Rather, because I didn’t have a fiancé, I even thought of him as a nuisance for having an eye on me. In addition, because it seemed like he was investigating you, I had my guard up against him but……”

Sharia giggled.

“It was probably just after the time I told you about his movements……I sometimes had the opportunity to talk to him. Time passed, and before I knew it, I started to find talking to him fun. While it may sound a bit outrageous……I started to think about how I wanted to stay by his side and do what I could to support him. That person who will eventually have to bear a huge amount of responsibility…….it did not take much time for me to realize that emotion was love.”

“Have you tried discussing this with anyone other than myself……?”

“There’s no way I could say it. I may not be as well-informed about the ongoings in the palace as Mellice is……but even then, I am still the daughter of a Count. I do understand it to a certain extent. That my feelings will only inconvenience that person.”

Sharia’s face momentarily darkened.

However, eventually it transformed into a serious expression.

While I was of the same gender as her, her profile had a beauty that captivated me.

“That is why, it is fine…….I am satisfied. While not everything about it was positive, I was able to experience the feeling of adoring a person this much……and I am thankful for it.”

I truly admired the strength of Sharia’s heart.

……when it was me, I made such a ruckus and caused much trouble to my surroundings.

On the other hand, I felt that this was very unlike Sharia.

If it was the usual Sharia, then no matter what sort of hardships lay in wait, and there was the possibility she would regret it, she would resolve herself and advance forward.

That has changed. Because there is nothing that does not change.

……despite that, the current Sharia seems to be hesitating on whether or not she should even go forward.

She is afraid of stepping forward, and seems to have compromised by going against her own feelings.

However, I instead chose not to speak of that.

Because interjecting with that here would be irresponsible.

To begin with the other party is royalty……one cannot carelessly voice their feelings about them.

Even if, by the off-chance, she were to express her feelings and receive a positive response, there would only be troubles in their future.

That is why I could not frivolously cheer them on.

“No matter what choice you make, you will be my important friend. I will do my utmost to protect you.”

“My……fufufu, I have the strongest guard. If you were a man, high society would’ve gone crazy for you. I’m sure you would’ve had two times……no, plenty more ladies trying to attract you compared to that person.”

“Fufufu……who knows? Anyways……as long as you remain as yourself, I will protect you……that is what I have decided. Do not forget that.”

“Yes. Thank you, Mellice.”

Even as Sharia’s eyes grew faintly moist, she made an incredibly lovely smile.


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in CSWH and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to CSWH Chapter 124

  1. Pingback: CSWH Chapter 123 | Kiriko Translations

  2. zekkendo says:

    “While I was of the same gender as her, her profile had a beauty that captivated me.”
    Careful, Rui. Sharia looks to be Ms. Steal-yo-girl

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: CSWH Chapter 125 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.