At the Northern Fort V1C15

At the Northern Fort V1C15: The Icy Branch Captain

After finishing the morning patrol and returning to the fort, Grail took off his cloak and gloves that were covered in snow as he quickly walked down the hallway of the barracks.

He had moved the knife and spare sword that had been in his room to another location, but he still couldn’t help but be worried that Mil would get injured while housesitting. That fox cub still wasn’t used to living indoors. He had left her alone because she had a fear of strangers, but he probably should have instead left her in the care of someone that was off-duty.

As he hurried to Mil’s location, he once again confirmed whether or not there were dangerous objects left inside the room in his head. He didn’t have much unnecessary furniture or items to begin with, and he had also cleaned the floor where Mil would be walking. It would be terrible if her soft paw pads were injured, so he hadn’t overlooked even a single splinter coming out of the old floorboards.

Seeing the door to his room coming into sigh, Grail took the key out of his pocket while walking, and inserted it in a practised manner into the keyhole. While he was in a rush, thinking about how Mil might be sleeping obediently inside, he pushed open the door quietly.

“Mil?”

The first place he turned his eyes towards was the fox cub’s bed – the basket that had been placed on the floor with a single blanket in it. However, seeing that it was completely empty, he raised his gaze. It was when he started to survey the room that Grail’s movements unconsciously came to a stop.

A single colour was reflected in his eyes.

Black, black, and more black.

……what the heck is this?

The desk that was deep within the room. And on top of it was an empty ink bottle, fallen to its side. The documents that he had been in the middle of writing and the desk were stained black. On top of that, ink was dripping from the desk, dirtying the chair and floor, leaving the corner of Grail’s room in a disastrous state. 

Just what in the world happened in this room? -Grail thought, considering the possibility that a burglar had come in as his face grew stern. However, it wasn’t long before he noticed the small black pawprints of the culprit that were left here and there.

Grail let out a sigh as he made a small chuckle. He had been worried about what had happened, but he relaxed after figuring out the identity of the culprit. The books that he had been using as references while writing the documents should have been on top of the desk. Yet, for some reason they were now properly lined up on the floor, with pawprints left on them. It was probably Mil’s work. Just what had she been trying to do?

“Mil?”

Grail once again looked around the room. There weren’t many places to hide in this barren room. To begin with, the black footprints quickly revealed the hiding place of the culprit. Grail peeked underneath his bed without any hesitation at all.

“……”

As expected, the white fox cub was there.

Underneath the bed in the deepest place, the furthest corner, and the darkest area.

“Mil.”

The fox cub’s ears twitched in reaction to Grail’s call as she turned his way in reaction. She could properly hear Grail. However, she didn’t try to meet his gaze at all.

Even as her face fully exposed her feelings of guilt, she put her ink-stained forepaws tightly underneath herself. Was she trying to hide the evidence like that?

After he silently peeked under the bed for a short while, Mil eventually raised her eyes and looked his way timidly, keeping her face turned downwards, but soon averted them again after her eyes met his. 

Even if she concealed her dirtied paws, or hid away underneath the bed, her attitude of refusing to meet Grail’s eyes was the best evidence of her guilt as the perpetrator.

Rather, her face is showing it. All of it.

If she were innocent, then she wouldn’t be making a face filled with such a grim resolve.

Seeing as Mil had started to exude an aura that gave off the feeling of [The End of the World], Grail became unable to hold back as he let out a soft chuckle.

“It’s okay, I’m not mad.”

When he called out to her in as gentle a voice he could muster, a slight ray of hope returned to Mil’s eyes amidst the dark underside of the bed. As though to reaffirm the words he spoke just now, she twitched while lifting her head and looking his way.

“It’s my fault for not properly screwing on the lid of the ink bottle.”

If he had properly fastened the ink bottle’s lid, then even if the fox cub tried to open it as a joke, it should’ve been impossible. Especially with those clumsy paws of hers.

He had carelessly thought that Mil wouldn’t climb up onto the desk, so he hadn’t properly checked the things on it.

“That’s why, come on, hurry up and come out.”

Grail plunged his head underneath the bed and extended his long arm. He grabbed the nape of Mil’s – who was still hiding her forepaws – neck, and slowly dragged her out. While Mil did not come out of her own accord, she also let him do as he wished without resisting.

“Ahh, they really are completely black. Not only that, but it’s all four of them.”

Seeing her exposed legs, he once again chuckled. Even though she had dirtied the room, for some reason not the slightest bit of anger or exasperation welled up. 

Mil looked as though she were downcast and apologetic for her blunder, making a strangely human-like expression. Grail pat Mil’s head to cheer her up.

“You don’t seem to be injured, so let’s hurry up and get that ink washed off.”

When he said that with a gentle voice, Mil, who had been silently making a depressed face up until now, suddenly started crying out ‘kyun kyun’ while hugging Grail’s leg as he stood. If there were a translation for her words, it would probably be something like, “Waaah, I’m so sorry!”. She was like a child whose tears gushed forth as soon as she felt a sense of relief.

She cried as though she were begging for forgiveness, desperately jumping up on her hind legs as her front legs scratched at Grail’s pants. Her actions were so cute that it felt like a waste to stop her, so Grail sacrificed his pants without any hesitation. The ink on Mil’s forepaws still hadn’t dried yet.

***

Ahh……I’m so sorry.

I truly am so very sorry.

I had resolved myself to being yelled at, rebuked, and driven out of the fort. But the One-Eyed Knight was always such a kind person. Without paying any heed to the ink-covered room, he took responsibility by saying that it was his bad for not properly closing the lid of the ink bottle, and didn’t reprimand me at all.

Earlier, when I was trying to apologise, I ended up dirtying the One-Eyed Knight’s pants, further extending the scope of the damage. Even though I did that, he didn’t show any signs of minding, and instead smiled quietly. How tolerant!

On top of that, right now he was doing his best to clean off my dirtied legs while saying, “It won’t quite come off”. Right now, I was laying on my back in the One-Eyed Knight’s lap as he sat cross-legged on the floor trying to wipe my legs, one paw at a time, with a wet cloth. At first, he had me soak my legs in a bucket filled with lukewarm water, which washed off most of the ink, but my bottom of my feet were still a bit grey. 

Right now, even if my sensitive belly is turned upwards by his hands, and my paw pads are scrubbed vigorously, I could not complain. I did not have such a right. The only thing I had the right to do was reflect seriously upon the trouble I had caused, and offer my thanks to the One-Eyed Knight.

Thank you, I’m sorry. Trying to convey that, I persistently licked the One-Eyed Knight’s hand that was wiping my paws. “I know, I know”, he said, smoothly putting my licking to a stop. How unfortunate.

In the end, my four legs were still a faint grey, but the One-Eyed Knight said, “If you run around in the snow outside, then it’ll probably come off eventually”. I hope so. Otherwise, the evidence of my blunder will remain eternally. 

After that, the One-Eyed Knight set about cleaning the room. The books appeared to be his personal property, so even if they got a little dirty, it was not a problem since they were still readable. Thank goodness. But still, sorry.

The desk was originally quite old, and the ink that had spread widely across it had also managed to soak through to the inside of it, so it seems that he’ll be disposing of it. He did say, “I was thinking that it was about time to get a new one, so this’ll be a good opportunity”, but even so, sorry……

As for those important-looking documents, they naturally had to be scrapped. I’m sorry!

“All I have to do is rewrite the documents.”

The One-Eyed Knight was so kind it made my chest hurt.

While he was cleaning up, I was unable to help out, being a fox, so I obediently stayed still behind him. Sitting quietly so that I would not be a nuisance, I made a sorrowful expression while watching him work.

“……”

I couldn’t stand the fact that I couldn’t do anything to help, even though he was cleaning up the mess that I had made from my clumsiness. 

However, the One-Eyed Knight did not show any signs of displeasure at my useless self, and on the contrary, he would sometimes look back my way, and the corners of his mouth would rise in a chuckle. 

Why?

After he had washed my legs and finished cleaning the room, the One-Eyed Knight tossed the cloth in the bucket full of dirty water, and lightly cracked his neck. I-Is he tired? Because I unnecessarily increased his workload……

I could not help but be excessively over-conscious regarding each and every one of the One-Eyed Knight’s movements.

“Now then, lunch break should be just about coming to an end.”

“……!”

I-I’m sorry, I’m so sorry. I’m sorry for making you use your valuable break time for cleaning! I made meaningless, panicked circles around the One-Eyed Knight.

However, the One-Eyed Knight didn’t seem to mind at all that his break time had been used for such matters. Taking the bucket in hand, he kindly looked down at me and spoke in a joking manner.

“After this we’ll be going to greet the Branch Captain. Since he’s the most important person at this fort, make sure not to bite him.”

……hm? Branch Captain-san?

After putting away the bucket, I went together with the One-Eyed Knight to see the [Branch Captain-san]. I did my best to climb the stairs, and upon reaching the floor above, we went down a deathly quiet corridor. Somehow, it feels like the atmosphere around here was different. It was completely different from the clamorous and noisy dining hall, and the barracks where you could relax, and had an air of tension about it. Straightening my back, I followed closely after the One-Eyed Knight.

Looking at the title, “Branch Captain”, he was probably higher in rank compared to the One-Eyed Knight, who was a “vice” captain. Plus, he did just say earlier that he was “the most important person at this fort”. 

When I thought about how I was going to meet such a person now, my legs grew stiff from nervousness, making my walking become clumsy. And since I had four legs, I started to become slightly confused about which one should be stepping out first……

But if I don’t receive the Branch Captain-san’s permission, then I might not be able to stay here.

Since he’s the One-Eyed Knight’s superior, then he’s probably older than the One-Eyed Knight, and even stronger and more robust.

In my head, a large and burly bear-like uncle appeared. He was the head of this fort, with its harsh environment. He’d have to be someone like that to be fit for the position, I figured.

We came to a stop in front of a large and solemn wooden door that likely led to the Branch Captain-san’s office. The One-Eyed Knight enthusiastically knocked on that door. W-Wait, my heart still isn’t ready yet……! When I tried to fix up my bangs, I realised that I didn’t have bangs like in my previous life.

As I was doing that, a response came from inside, and the One-Eyed Knight opened the door.

Bracing myself for a confrontation against a bear with authority, I steeled my resolve while entering the wide room. Though I was hiding in the shadow of the One-Eyed Knight’s leg.

The first thing that felt out of place when I entered the room was the smell. The scent of something burning was strong, so I knew that the fireplace was aflame, but there was a sort of clean, soap-like scent mixed in with it. The only one to have a scent like this in this men-filled fortress should be Tina-san. Somehow, the scent was rather refreshing.

The room did not have any other particular peculiarities. There was a bookshelf and a file cabinet along the wall, while the centre of the room had a classy-looking low table, together with a black sofa. The work desk was near the window. Also, the floor had a carpet laid out that felt quite nice on my paws.

“Thanks for the work, Branch Captain.”

The One-Eyed Knight remained close to the door while giving his greeting. His voice was polite and calm, at a slightly lower tone compared to when he talked to me. Drawn in by his words, I also looked towards the desk. However, the instant I saw the person beyond the steam coming from his teacup, the bear-like uncle in my head went BAM! -and disappeared with a pop. The Branch Captain-san was the complete opposite from what I had imagined.

Sitting behind the desk was a handsome man with straight, black hair that went to his shoulders. On his small face were a pair of almond-shaped eyes and cool eyebrows, a well-shaped nose and lips that were perfectly positioned. He was no match for Mother’s breathtaking beauty, but he was a beautiful man with an androgynous air. 

And he was younger than I had imagined. He was probably a bit younger than the One-Eyed Knight.

Compared to the overbearing knights of the fort, he seemed far more fragile, yet refined. However, his body also looked trained, and did not give off a delicate feeling that might mistaken him for a female. 

He gave off the impression of being a stern and slightly cold superior at work. 

“Regarding the fox cub matter that I spoke to you about this morning, could I receive approval to protect it in the fort? I brought the “person in question” too just in case.”

“……what?”

The Branch Captain-san raised an eyebrow at the One-Eyed Knight’s words. He didn’t seem too comfortable about the fact that I came.

Slowly, the Branch Captain-san turned his gaze towards the One-Eyed Knight’s feet, where I was hiding. Feeling his icy, jet-black eyes shoot through me, my heart started thumping out of nervousness.

But the truth was that I actually have quite a bit of confidence in my looks. If I had to be frank, I thought that I was a bit cute. 

……yes, I’m sorry.

But you know! I don’t think anyone would look at a white fluffy fox cub and think, “Uwah, how ugly”, or, “How disgusting”! 

That is why, even though the Branch Captain-san seemed like a cold person, I figured that there was no way he would look at such a young fox cub and say, “Don’t take it under custody. Throw it out”. 

I’m a pitiful fox cub. My Mother went to the Capital, and I don’t have anywhere else to go. Although I carelessly spilled some ink (mental trauma), I really am a good girl. I get excited when I see fresh snow and forget myself, but I really am a good girl. Please, let me stay here.

While having such thoughts, I gazed at the Branch Captain-san with imploring eyes.

And, the instant our eyes met, his eyes widened for a single moment. It was not all that major a movement, and was almost imperceptible. Something other than coolness dwelled within his eyes, but I could not decipher what that something actually was.

But, it was his reaction after that which was a problem. 

After the Branch Captain-san’s eyes widened, his brow furrowed tightly and he clenched his teeth, making a face as though he were eating something bitter.

Eh? I-I’m being glared at……? He made a disgusted face at…me?

However, that expression was also but for a brief moment, and the Branch Captain-san’s face soon calmed. Then, as though nothing had happened at all——as though he had never crossed eyes with an organism like me——he turned back towards the One-Eyed Knight.

That is?”

A tone of voice that was as cold as ice. His finger pointed towards me as he said [that], but his eyes did not look my way.

What should I do? I might be hated at first sight. Growing anxious, I looked up at the One-Eyed Knight, but he looked the same as always……

“Yeah, isn’t she cute?”

The corners of his mouth rose slightly as he spoke calmly. Why does he look so calm in front of this icy Branch Captain-san?

The Branch Captain-san completely ignored those words and responded indifferently.

“…….I do not think that it is a bad thing to come into contact with animals. I’m sure that “that” will raise the spirits of our men who are tired from missions and living in these harsh conditions. But however, if the existence of that causes the men to grow remiss, or becomes a hindrance to the work and daily duties of the fort, then I will have to rethink this decision. That is all regarding my opinion.”

He spoke in a very business-like manner, but he didn’t reject my existence unsparingly. Rather, he gave a very normal and logical opinion. Based on his earlier reaction when he saw me, I thought he’d say something like, “Don’t take it in! Take that beast and toss it out!”. 

And his remark just now showed that he was a person who properly thought about the well-being of his subordinates that were the knights of this fort. He might unexpectedly be a good person.

“Then, do I have your permission to protect her?”

“If Grail will assume responsibility for that fox cub, then very well. I will not get involved.”

“I don’t mind. Thank you very much.”

It seems that we’ve safely managed to get permission. The Branch Captain-san doesn’t seem to like me very much, but I don’t dislike the Branch Captain-san all that much. As the person in charge of this fort, he seems to be a person capable of making objective decisions.

“Then, excuse me.”

“……yeah.”

Following the One-Eyed Knight out of the room, I also went out into the corridor. I’m scared of being glared at if our eyes meet again, so I didn’t turn around at all.

It’s good that we got permission, but it seems that I’ll have to revise my self-perception. ‘There’s no one who would hate a cute and powerless fox cub?’ – how presumptuous of me to think that.

There are people who hate animals, and there also people who are completely disinterested in them. The One-Eyed Knight is kind, and Tina-san always says, “How cute” to me, and the other knights have never given me any unpleasant looks, so I got carried away. How regrettable.

I’m embarrassed at the me who thought, “I might be the healing type…….”. Super embarrassed. I really want to punch myself. What ‘healing type’, you furball!

That’s right, I’m just a living ball of fur. I might have knowledge from my previous life, but it’s not like I’ve been making use of it, and while I’m a spirit, I still can’t use any special powers. I can’t earn money on my own, can’t hunt, can’t protect anyone, can’t talk, and I spill ink too (mental trauma)……

Huh? Aren’t I pretty useless?


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>


Translator Comments:

Mil’s self-esteem has taken quite the hit…….too cute. >w<

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in At the Northern Fort and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to At the Northern Fort V1C15

  1. Guillaume Bergevin says:

    Thank you for the chapter! While it hasn’t caught up yet with what has already been translated before, it’s still quite enjoyable to reread it all and I’m looking foward to once this catches up with the rest and I’m glad you took the time to get familair with the whole novel before continuing with what was there.

    Thansk a lot for the hard work!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. zekkendo says:

    gah.

    . . . now i reeeeally wanna know how everyone will react when they find out who MIl’s mom is.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V1C16 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.