At the Northern Fort V1C18

At the Northern Fort V1C18: Branch Captain-san’s Hidden Face

By the second day after being taken in, I started to get used to various things. The One-Eyed Knight’s terrifying countenance on waking, and his iron man-like abilities that he displayed during his morning training too. I seriously began to think that his body was made of steel.

And my timidness towards the others got a bit better compared to yesterday. As always, I maintained my wariness against Kix, and I still wouldn’t let just anyone stroke my body. However, if they spoke gently and slowly extended their hand towards me, I was okay with them touching my head or back. My stomach, paws, and tail were still a no-go though. Since those parts are sensitive after all.

After Tina-san managed to pet me in the morning dining hall, she got so excited that she let out a quiet scream of, “KYAAaaahhh”. It seemed that she was in awe at the smooth and fluffy feeling of my fur. As she stroked it, she said,” No way! It’s so unbelievably fluffy! Noooo!”. Is it no good? 

When the One-Eyed Knight went off to work, similar to yesterday afternoon, he let me go outside. Though he only did so after telling me to, “Be a good girl”, and thoroughly rubbing my head all over. 

But today there were knights in the training grounds, diligently training by running around in the snow while carrying heavy-looking luggage. In order not to get in their way, I stayed on the edges of the grounds, amusing myself by digging holes in the snow. 

The ground was pretty hard, and I’d get dirty if I tried digging through it, so it wasn’t all that fun. In contrast, snow was crunchy and digging it wouldn’t make me dirty, so I unintentionally ended up absorbed in digging in it.

After I finished digging a hole, I exhaled and caught my breath. But I still had some energy left, so I tried digging another hole next to it. At that moment, however, my foot slipped and I ended up tumbling into the about 10-cm deep hole that I had dug. If I remember correctly, something like this has happened before. 

Feeling embarrassed at my foolishness, I hurriedly crawled out of the hole. No one saw me, right?

When I looked back at the knights on the training grounds, they appeared to have just finished running, and were sitting on the snow, gasping for breath.

All of them made expressions of suffering, but they seemed to be laughing a little.

“I can’t, it’s too hard-……!”

“Even though I’m already out of breath from running, laughing makes breathing-……”

So I was seen.

As my face flushed, I quickly left the training grounds. You know, cause it’d be bad to distract them while training after all. 

After that, I went to the stables, and watched an old man who seemed to be the horses’ caretaker feeding them from afar. Noticing my gaze, the old man gestured with the hay, asking, “Do you want some too?”. As expected, even an omnivore like myself wouldn’t go for it. 

Once the old man finished cleaning the stables and left, I approached the horses and greeted them in order.

Good morning, good morning. Today’s cold too, huh?

The horses let out white breaths in response. 

Eventually, I approached a noticeably larger horse situated in the middle of the stable, and gave it the same greeting. I don’t know much about what different horse coat colours are called, so all I can say is the colour of the large horse in front of me was a dark brown. However, since the sun wasn’t out today, it looked mostly black.

He had an extremely firm, muscular body, and his facial features were also quite masculine-looking. He gave off a manly, dependable feeling. In reality, the other horses also seemed to trust him, and he was the leader around here.

His long, black tail lightly swayed as he extended his neck towards me. I think that he was probably the One-Eyed Knight’s horse. He had a bit of the One-Eyed Knight’s scent left on him, and their general atmosphere was very similar.

That was why being next to him felt a lot like being next to the One-Eyed Knight, which calmed me a little.

I don’t know if it’s because they heard the story when the humans were talking, or because they witnessed what happened on that evening, but the horses seemed to know that I was attacked by a wild dog, and were concerned, asking, “Are you okay?”. Of course, it wasn’t like the horses actually spoke any words, but their intention was somehow conveyed. 

After making a cry to state, I’m okay, the One-Eyed Knight’s horse then snorted, “The next time I see that guy, I’ll intimidate him for ya”. I’m counting on you, Leader. I don’t at all classify you as a weak herbivore. 

And then, I went to give my morning greetings to the horse that was next to Leader. Greetings were important in animal society too.

This horse had elegant black hair, and was exceedingly beautiful. So beautiful that just the sight of him made you feel like sighing with admiration. His temperament was also gentle and delicate. 

They say that dogs resemble their owners, but perhaps horses also resemble their masters. The reason being that I could smell the Branch Captain-san’s scent from this horse.

It was a fragrance that didn’t have a very strong male odour, with a slight soapy scent mixed into it, giving it a sense of cleanliness.

——-and just as I was thinking that, I felt the scent on the wind getting stronger.

The tail of the black-haired horse in front of me swung happily.

When I turned around, I saw the Branch Captain-san walking across the snow, quietly heading this way. To think that the person in question would appear.

As always, his skin was white, and his glossy black hair rustled in the wind. As a former female human, I was incredibly jealous. This world doesn’t seem to have any for of hair treatment, so just how is he maintaining his hair cuticles?

“……”

It appeared that only after the Branch Captain-san had come closer to the stable that he finally noticed my presence. Maybe he couldn’t see me because my fur blended in with the snow? It’s the same colour after all.

Upon meeting my eyes, the Branch Captain-san stiffened and came to a sudden stop. Why did you stop?

When the black-haired horse grew impatient and let out a small cry, he blinked as he came to his senses and started to carefully walk towards us.

I wonder why. The Branch Captain-san’s movements looked awfully stiff. He looked solely at his own horse, without having his eyes stray to the ground——-where I was, at all.

“You look well, Ilus.”

And then, while continuing to ignore me, he continued to stroke the nose of his beloved horse in a slightly nervous manner.

So that I didn’t interrupt their tryst, I quietly distanced myself from his horse, who seemed to be called Ilus, and approached the One-Eyed Knight’s horse.

The Branch Captain-san stroked Ilus’ body many times over as he spoke to him, saying things like, “How’re you feeling?”, and, “Have you been eating properly?”. 

There weren’t any bad people amongst those who would talk to animals, I thought to myself while watching the scene. While he’s called the [Icy Branch Captain], his true self really was different from that title.

However, if my guess that Branch Captain-san didn’t have any friends was true, then this scene instantly took on a much sadder meaning.

His only friend is a horse……

I cried. I was crying in my heart. 

I’m sure that Branch Captain-san is just an awkward guy. Because of his good looks, he had to maintain a cold image, so he became unable to make friends.

I’m cheering you on. Hang in there! You can do it, Branch Captain-san!

Crying, ‘kyun kyun’, I scratched at the Branch Captain-san’s boots.

“……!”

Startled, Branch Captain-san looked down at me, and then froze. Whether it be humans or animals, perhaps he hasn’t had much contact with others? Or am I being hated like I thought? Even though he likes horses, maybe he doesn’t like foxes?

Trying to peek at his reaction, I looked up intently at Branch Captain-san.

When I did so, his brow furrowed deeply and he made a painful expression and pressed his face against the bridge of Ilus’ nose while murmuring.

“……so hard.”

I grew even more worried about him. Well, of course it’s hard to not have any friends. I once again started to cry out, ‘kyun kyun’, and clung to Branch Captain-san’s leg to stand up on my hind legs.

Then I’ll also become Branch Captain-san’s friend. I feel bad that I can’t be a human friend, but wouldn’t it be pretty cool to become the friend of a spirit? You don’t wanna? You don’t wanna be friends with me?

When I looked up at Branch Captain-san, his face warped even more after seeing me clinging to him. He looks like he’s in a lot of pain. 

And then, just as I saw him close his eyes tightly-

“I can’t take it anymore.”

He whispered as though he couldn’t endure it anymore, and in the next instant——-he hugged me tiiiiiiiiightly.

…….huh?

After being picked up by the crouching Branch Captain-san, I stiffened for a short while as I was imprisoned in his arms.

I wonder how long we remained like that? Eventually, Branch Captain-san gently let me back down onto the ground, and then hesitatingly——-began to pet me all over, from my head, to my ears, to my chest and tail. 

Not only that, but at that moment, his expression was rather……ecstatic.

His eyes looked glimmered with intoxication, his cheeks were flushed, and he was faintly panting. At times he would let out a small voice going, “Ahh…….”.

While it was very erotic, I felt somewhat complicated. Just where did that cool icy Branch Captain go?

He gently lifted up one of my legs, and this time he started to stroke my paw pads.

“This texture……!”

Yes yes, the softness of my paw pads is indeed something that I’m proud about.

But I don’t think it’s something to be that deeply impressed about……

I had thought that Branch Captain-san didn’t like me, or that he wasn’t all that interested in me. So what’s with this sudden change in attitude? Rather, what about being friends? Don’t you want any friends?

Branch Captain-san gazed at me with a spellbound expression.

“You’re so cute. Why do you have such an adorable form? …….ahh, of course Ilus is also cute. Don’t sulk. Both of you are cute.”

The branch captain’s icy mask crumbled. He was making a happy, lovestruck face while petting both Ilus and I together.

What should I do? This person might be the kind of pitiable human that can only become friends with animals. Maybe because he was bullied in the past, he can’t open his heart to humans anymore.

When I thought about it like that, I couldn’t show any reluctance, even if he was touching my paw pads. Instead, I started to lick his hand to try and cheer him up.

“…….I’m so happy it hurts.”

Those quietly whispered words made my chest hurt. Branch Captain-san, who feels this happy from such a trivial exchange is……*sob*. 

Filled with feelings of sympathy, I continued to lick Branch Captain-san’s slender fingers all over.


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>


Translator Comments:

When you think about the fact that Mil is a young girl mentally, Branch Captain-san starts to sound a bit like a pervert…….*cough* Naw, I must be imagining things. Yup. Just my imagination.

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in At the Northern Fort. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to At the Northern Fort V1C18

  1. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V1C19 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.