At the Northern Fort V1Ex1

At the Northern Fort V1Ex1: Proof of Trust

Lately, there’s a certain act that’s become popular amongst the knights at the fort. It was burying their faces into my belly.

However, to me, it was an incredibly annoying action. Really, what a bothersome thing to do.

The trigger to this was Tina-san.

I was being brushed by her in the lounge, and it felt so good that I was enamoured. I completely relaxed my whole body while lying face down.

However, no matter how good it felt, it made me nervous to have my belly brushed, so I didn’t let her do that. I felt somewhat anxious when my belly was touched. I also wasn’t too great with having the extremities of my body touched, such as my tail, ears, and paw pads.

As such, she mostly brushed my head and back, and it was when I was completely relaxed that Tina-san started to act.

“Mil-cha~n, let’s roll over. Ro~ll.”

Just when I thought her soft hands were stroking my back, that hand went around to my belly, and before I knew it I was face-up on the sofa. What skill. Since I had relaxed my attention, my reaction was delayed.

Tina-san’s eyes glittered as she looked at my white belly fur and-

“Mil-chan, it’s okay right? Just a bit, it’ll just be for a little bit.”

-said that, saying things that an unpopular guy might say to a girl in front of a love hotel (even though Tina-san is a very sweet girl!).

“This was my dream!”

She then buried her face into my belly.

On top of that, she started to press and rub her face into it.

……just what is this feeling? Somehow it feels a bit embarrassing.

Rather than discomfort, the feeling of shame was far larger. For some reason I feel incredibly embarrassed. What is this?

Tina-san was making an indescribably excited voice with her face still buried into my belly. I struggled in a way to not injure her and hastily jumped down from the sofa. If I were human, my face would surely have been bright red. 

“Sorry, was that uncomfortable?”

Tina-san looked rather ashamed of her excitement as she asked that in a bashful manner.

“I didn’t hate it but……”

I responded in a small voice. Being able to speak was really convenient. Since I could communicate my feelings.

Rather than not liking it, it was embarrassing. Somehow it made me feel a bit restless.

“If you don’t like it, then I won’t do it anymore. That’s why, don’t keep such a distance from me~!”

Tina-san said to me as I put up my guard. Saying they ‘won’t do it’ to make you drop your guard, when in actuality they ‘do it’. That was an often used strategy by Kix, but Tina-san didn’t seem the type to use it, so I obediently returned to her side. 

“Sorry. But you’re so fluffy and it felt so good…..”

Tina-san murmured with an enraptured expression. If it feels that good, then I want to try too. I tried extending my neck to my belly, but it just ended up in me doing a forward roll.

After that, Tina-san ultimately did not aim for my belly again, just as she said. The way she maintained her promises was one of her good points. As expected, she was different from Kix. At times I felt her giving my belly rueful glances, but I pretended that I didn’t notice that.

But wait. It seems that Tina-san, without any evil intentions of her own, chatted about the matter to Kix, and so the next day Kix started his attack. He didn’t even try to hide his intent, and made a direct assault.

“Mil~! Let me bury my face in your belly too~!”

Apparently, Kix thought that being able to do that was a sign of trust. It was true that I wouldn’t be able to expose my belly in front of someone I thought was an enemy.

“You don’t trust me, Mil!?”

Maintaining my gaze on the steadily approaching Kix, I remained tightly on guard while backing away.

Kix is seriously conceited to think that I could trust him. I liked him as a playmate, but I didn’t trust him at all.

Kix is a persistent guy. I didn’t want to get in the way of their work, so I’d come to the fort from the mountaintop during their afternoon break. But every single time I came, he’d target my belly. I really wanted him to give up already.

On top of that, Kix’s actions spread as rumours in a weird way, and ended up being transmitted as, “Mil will only show her belly to people she trusts”. Thus, it turned into a sort of challenge for the knights at the fort. If I lay face-up and on top of that, let them bury their face into my belly without showing any signs of dislike, then the challenge was successful.

I feel like the knights of the fort were bored.

“I’m sure that I’m trusted.”

“No, it’ll be impossible for you. Mil hasn’t acted spoiled to you after all.”

“What did you say, you bastard?! Then what about you?”

“I honestly don’t care if I’m trusted or not, but just wanna bury my face into that soft-looking belly fur.”

“……me too.”

Similar unsettling conversations of that sort occurred throughout the fort as a result. 

And so, my days of escaping from the challengers continued. Well, other than Kix, nobody tried doing it forcibly. As long as I rejected them, they’d leave me alone without any issues.

It seemed that me properly telling them, “I’ll hate anyone who tries to do it without my consent!”, worked. Really, being able to talk is convenient~.

However, nobody seemed to be getting tired of it. 

****

Lately, the eyes of my subordinates when they looked at Mil were strange. Everyone’s gazes were drawn to her belly.

Apparently, if you can bury your face into Mil’s belly, that was a sign of trust. But in reality, rather than looking for trust, everyone was just following their desires. Their desire to bury their faces into that soft belly fur and fully experience its fluffiness……

“So? Has anyone succeeded?”

When I asked that in an exasperated manner, my subordinate scratched his head and responded.

“No, up until now, no one has……it seems that Tina, who was the first to try it out, succeeded, but after that she’s been on guard, so there were no further successes.”

Well of course. Other than pet dogs that were completely used to humans, there aren’t any animals that’d be happy with having their vital points touched. Though Mil’s a spirit.

“Tell everyone to stop doing such meaningless things. What are you gonna do if Mil stops coming here?”

“Uu……that’s true. I’d hate for that to happen.”

Thus, there were no more people who were targeting Mil’s belly……is what I thought. There was still one persistent person left. It was Kix.

“Kyan kyan!”

During the brief gap in time when I had my eyes off her in the lounge, Mil cried out from being attacked. Before I realised it, Mil was lying face-up on the sofa, and Kix was burying his face into her stomach.

I reckoned that I should save her, but Mil’s appearance with her eyes open wide with surprise as she desperately tried to kick Kix with her hind legs was too adorable. I ended up watching the scene for a bit longer before punching Kix and tearing him off of her.

“So floofy……”

But all Kix did was make a gratified expression, showing not the slightest bit of remorse. While it was true that her fur texture felt wonderful, it seemed that he did not realise that in order to obtain that sensation, he had lost what little trust she had for him. 

As for Mil, after getting up and taking a distance from Kix, her spiritless eyes were moist with tears, and she was trembling in an almost bashful manner. She was like a young girl who had her skirt flipped by a stupid boy.

In reality, while she was still young, Mil was still a girl. She might actually be really embarrassed.

“Are you alright?”

When I called out to her, Mil’s ears twitched and she quiveringly looked my way. It seemed as though she had become wary of me too.

“It’s alright. I’ll make sure that Kix and them don’t do any stupid things anymore.”

When I said that and stroked her head, Mil made an blatantly relieved expression and-

“One-Eyed Knight~!”

-said that while hugging my arm. Incidentally, ever since the first time Mil became able to speak, I learned that she had been calling me the ‘One-Eyed Knight’. It seems that she had been calling me that because she didn’t know my name, and then the name ended up sticking.

“Everyone’s horrible. My belly! My belly……!”

“I know, I know. I told them off properly, so it’s okay. I’ll also scold Kix later.”

“Uwaaaah, thank you! The only one I can trust is the One-Eyed Knight.”

How’s that! This is how you gain her trust. I soothed Mil, who started to cry ‘kyun kyun’, and when I looked at Kix, he finally started to regret the stupid thing he did.

“I was too hasty……”

It’s too late. Once you’ve lost trust, it’s quite hard to regain it.

When you do stupid things like bury your face into an unwilling Mil’s belly, this happens.

I digress, but on a later day, I accidentally witnessed the scene of Branch Captain Cromwell silently burying his face into Mil’s belly in the quiet lounge with nobody else in it.

I couldn’t see Cromwell’s face, but I saw Mil’s. She was also silent, but she accepted Cromwell without showing any signs of dislike. She was making a docile face, appearing as though she had achieved enlightenment. 

When I later asked Mil, “You didn’t hate it?”. 

“It’s embarrassing, but it’d be pitiful if I rejected him……since Branch Captain-san doesn’t have any friends……”

She responded.

I didn’t quite understand it, but what I did get was that Mil held a strange sort of gentleness and sympathy towards Cromwell.


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>


Translator Comments:

When you think about how Mil’s actually a young girl inside a fox’s body, it gives a subtle feeling. All these grown men (+woman) looking to bury their faces into the belly area of a little girl……tch tch tch. Bad knights! Bad Kix! Sekuhara desu yo, sore!

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in At the Northern Fort and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to At the Northern Fort V1Ex1

  1. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V1Ex2 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.