At the Northern Fort V1MD2

At the Northern Fort V1MD2: Summer

A short summer has arrived even in this region.
Compared to summer in Japan, it’s far cooler, but for a snow spirit like myself, it was a difficult time.
The snow around our mountain nest never melts all-year round, so it was comfortable around there, but apparently I didn’t have the right to hole up there (or so everyone from the fort said), thus today I came to the fort as usual like this.
It’s hot.
My belly is steaming.

With the coming of summer, the number of nudists in the Northern Fort has increased.
Once their training ends, everyone strips as though it’s completely natural, but I’d really wish that they wouldn’t forget that there was a single maiden standing right here.
Please remember. That I am a very cute girl.
I’d like for them to take that into consideration.

My weakness has been exposed to Kix. This is the worst.

I was passed around like a toy.
I’ll remember this.

I’ve discovered that the One-Eyed Knight is unexpectedly weak to alcohol.
Not only that, but I’ve learned of the shocking truth that when he gets drunk, he becomes a kissing demon.
While it was just on places like my forehead or the top of my head, I’d like for him to stop kissing me in such an erotic manner.

The next day, the One-Eyed Knight had a hangover.
He was flustered at being looked at with cold eyes, but it was only natural. He had to take responsibility for kissing my forehead so many times.
He settled things by giving me one week’s worth of jerky, so it can’t be helped.

A strange noise came from the mousehole in the lounge that was supposed to have been properly plugged up.
H-He’s trying to bite a hole through the wooden plank……!!!
Tina-san!! We have an emergency situation!!

When I told Father that it was hard to breathe when he carried me in his mouth, he reversed the orientation of my body.
Doesn’t this somehow make for an awful picture? Is this okay?

It wouldn’t be an exaggeration to say that summer was the season of the fire spirit Kugalg.
While I trembled in fear thinking about how he would be in the summer, seeing as how he was still so energetic and naughty in the winter, for some reason he transformed into a gentleman exclusively in the summer.
Apparently, he thought that I would melt if I was exposed too much to the summer sun, thus when we walked outside, he stuck close to me to keep me in his shadow. How kind! I was quite moved.
I wasn’t thinking that him sticking too close to me felt unbearably hot. I absolutely was not thinking that.

It seems that the one who had been leaving fruit in a tree that was in the fort for the little birdies was Branch Captain-san. At least, that is what everyone in the fort told me.
But apparently it wasn’t good to talk about that with Branch Captain-san himself. I don’t really get it, but I was told to, “Pretend not to know about it”.
But I want to say this to Branch Captain-san.
Since nature is already overflowing with edible things for them in the summer, the little birdies have been becoming fat and round.

Kix has discovered my second weakness.

He used my weakness to make a trap.
However, I absolutely will not do something like diving into Kix’s arms. Rather than having to ask for his help, I’d rather get over my trauma of ink.

Hehehe, so happy. This is a child’s privilege.
Mother feels cool and smells good.

[I ate cake together with Mil ♪ヽ(´∀`ヽ)(ノ´∀`)ノ♪]
After receiving a letter boasting that, Branch Captain-san burned with a competitive spirit and treated me to cake but…….it’s not something that’s better when there are massive amounts of it.

Since it’s been hot every day, I wanted to go swimming in the large lake that Father lived at, but when I said, “I want to play in the water”, Father turned me down, saying, “It’s too dangerous, so no……”. Instead, Father used his powers to create a small puddle for me.
No!
This isn’t what I meant when I said I wanted to ‘play in the water’!

When I sulked while hitting at the puddle, Father sighed while transforming into his human form to bring me out into the lake. The water was cold, which made me really excited. Badump badump.

I held onto Father while practicing my swimming.
But having regularly gone to a swimming pool in my previous life, this shouldn’t be my true swimming ability.
One day I will become capable of swimming the butterfly.

After being engrossed with swimming, more time passed than expected and Mother came to pick me up.
“Just how long do you plan on monopolizing my Milfiria!”, she said angrily. Seeing that, I got worried, and thought ‘Crap, it’s gonna turn into a big fight’, but in the end it didn’t turn out that way.
Father completely ignored Mother’s remark and gave a relaxed greeting of, “Snowlea, is it……it’s been a while”, before smoothly saying, “You’re beautiful……as always” with a nonchalant expression.
While I suppose Mother was accustomed to being told that, perhaps because he said it so naturally, she responded with a, “W-What are you saying so suddenly-”, completely forgetting her anger in her agitation.
Good going, Father.

I received a despairingly hideous stuffed animal from Tina-san.
Not only that, but it’s huge. Stupidly so. It’s stupidly large.
And it really isn’t cute at all. No matter how you put it, it wasn’t cute one bit.
But the doll’s leg height was just perfect to rest my chin on, so I only used it as a chinrest. 
“Mil-chan is sleeping together with the teddy bear that I made~!” Tina-san said happily but……a bear?
Tina-san has definitely never seen a bear before.

When I went outside together with Kugalg, he was, as always, desperately trying to create some shade for me.
How kind~, it was so kind of him, it made it hard to say this-
Even if you put up a sun block over there, because the position of the sun is over here, I’m being hit directly by the rays of the sun. It really was hard to say that. It was hard to say that his actions were completely meaningless.

I received ice as a present from the One-Eyed Knight.
Even as I thought to myself that it wasn’t like I was a polar bear from the zoo, I thoroughly enjoyed the coolness that it brought.

When I was playing around with Kix and the other young knights on their break as they splashed water at each other, Branch Captain-san was accidentally splashed with a bucket of water as he happened to pass by.
No, I wasn’t the one who splashed him though.
Soaked from the head down, Branch Captain-san silently turned his icy gaze towards them, causing Kix and the rest to prostrate themselves. With their bodies pasted against the ground, they planted their foreheads on the dirt and yelled, “O-O-Our deepest apologies!!”.
Just in case, I also prostrated myself in apology.
But maybe because of everyone’s prostration, Kix and the rest were let off lightly with a verbal warning. Branch Captain-san as he let out a fed up sigh while combing his wet hair back looked kinda erotic.

I chased after Branch Captain-san as he quickly went back into the building after giving Kix and the rest their warning. It’s because Kix and everyone begged me, saying, “Please restore Branch Captain’s mood for us, Mil-sama”. Geez, I guess it can’t be helped.
When I caught up to Branch Captain-san and tried to apologise one more time in everyone’s stead, he laughed and poked my nose.
Just when I thought he forgave me, he then snatched me up and punished me with a hard towel scrubbing. Even though I wasn’t the one who splashed him~!

My secret collection of [Sticks with a good feel to them] that I had been hiding in our cave nest was discovered by Mother and save for one of them, she threw the rest away.
Such a……horrible act…….
My [Sticks with a good feel to them]——!!

While this hasn’t changed since I was a human, I’m bad with bugs.
Whether it be the hard and rough touch they have, the buzzing sound of their wings, or their strange tendency to dive straight into your face. The fact that you couldn’t read their actions was scary.
I was unexpectedly fine with caterpillars and other slow-moving bugs, but all I could feel was fear for flying bugs that exceeded a certain size.

When I was waiting in the fort’s lounge for everyone to get off on break, it seems that I ended up dozing off.
In my dreams, I met my family from my previous life.
“—chan, come”, everyone called my name. My name that wasn’t Mil.
My mom was always kind and cheerful. My dad who always made boring dad jokes, but was a fun person. My big sis who sometimes teased me, but also doted on me dearly.
Even though I loved everyone, I wonder why, I couldn’t remember their faces at all.
I wonder how mom and everyone were after I died. I’m sure they were very sad. They surely shed a lot of tears.
I’m sorry, I’m so sorry……

It seems that I cried in my sleep. When I woke up, I was surrounded by the One-Eyed Knight and everyone as they worried over me after coming here on their break.
Even though everyone had scary faces, their flustered expressions were a little funny, unconsciously causing my tears to recede.
I really am a blessed person. Whether it be in my previous life or this life, I am surrounded by a bunch of kind people.
From the bottom of my heart, I prayed for my family in my previous life to be happy.

I regret the fact that I hadn’t properly conveyed my gratitude and love towards my family during my previous life.
That is why in this life, I will make sure to work hard to voice my feelings.
Let’s tell the One-Eyed Knight, Mother, Father, Branch Captain-san, Tina-san, and everyone in the fort, “I love you”. I’ll also tell Kix and Kugalg that too, every now and then.
So that I can tell them, “Thanks for everything”.


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>


Translator Comments:

This diary was so cute~ Mil and Kugalg have an adorable relationship. Scratch that, Mil and everyone have an adorable relationship.

I remember going hiking when I was young and finding sticks that people had carved things into that I used to collect because they seemed cool, as though some aliens or ancient society had made them. It always made the adults around me so confused when I insisted on taking them home, haha. Who else remembers a silly and cute memories from childhood?

With this, Volume 1 of At the Northern Fort is completed! Hope everyone’s enjoying the story, cause next up is Volume 2~

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in At the Northern Fort and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to At the Northern Fort V1MD2

  1. zekkendo says:

    My love for chocolate began at a young age.
    When I was 3, I ate an entire pack of Andes mints, and got sick.
    My parents were initially worried, but then saw all the chocolate wrappers in the trash can and figured out what happened.
    Not even a year later, I got sick again. They checked the trash can but, curiously, no chocolate wrappers to be found.

    It wasn’t until we moved years later that my secret was revealed.
    Behind the TV, in it’s little alcove, a pile of aluminum Andes wrappers, untouched except by dust for nearly 8 years.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V2C1 | Kiriko Translations

  3. Enne says:

    These little shorts along with the illustrations were tooooo adorable! Thanks for translating this!!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.