At the Northern Fort V2C5

At the Northern Fort V2C5: Branch Captain-san’s Circumstances (3)

Branch Captain-san seemed to receive a shock when I avoided him. I pressed him with the information I obtained from Kix.

“Bwanch Captain-san, you might return to the ‘Capwitol’, right? Instead, Captain Sarrell-san is going to be coming here, right?”

When I said that in one breath, Branch Captain-san’s movements came to a stop as he exposed a surprised expression.

“Why do you know about that?”

“Because I’m a spiwit, I know ebweything.”

So that Kix wouldn’t be condemned for being my source of information, I claimed omnipotence as a spirit.

“I want Bwanch Captain-san to stay as the captain here forever. I don’t want anybody else.”

“Mil……”

“Did you know? Even though Captain Sarrell-san ‘looks funny’, he’s a bad pershon. I can’t twust someone like that.”

Since he’s someone that boldly dons a flamboyant appearance like side-parted hair with round glasses, I wanted his character to be just as interesting as well.

“Mil……”

While Branch Captain-san at first made a moved expression, he then called my name again in a listless manner.

“It is true that Captain Sarrell hopes to be assigned to the Northern Fort. However, I also want to continue working here. I like the environment and my subordinates here, and I can obtain an experience that I would otherwise be unable to obtain in the Capital, where there are a lot of people collaborating with each other.”

The corners of his eyes that had been relaxed softly, then transformed into a stern expression.

“That is why I felt that I wanted Captain Sarrell to have a similar experience as I did, while at the same time, I was thinking that I could not leave this fort to him. Because our births and careers have been similar, I understand Captain Sarrell to a certain extent. That is why I know his compatibility with the knights of this fort would be devastatingly horrible.”

Hearing him say that it was ‘devastatingly bad’ made me want to laugh, but Branch Captain-san was making an incredibly serious face.

He was honestly thinking of his subordinates here and was worried about how their anticipated relationship with Captain Sarrell-san would be.

It is true that the knights of this fort exude a sort of atmosphere that says, “True ability is important! Brute strength is crucial! Only the strongest will be respected!”. So if some self-important person with no ability were to come in as their commanding officer, it was evident that the branch would fall apart.

Branch Captain-san was worried about that happening.

“In the first place, why have talks of Bwanch Captain-san leaving come up?”

I had thought that his term in office was fixed, but it seems that wasn’t the case.

Branch Captain-san explained it to me like so.

“There are two reasons for this. The first is because His Highness the Prince wishes for me to be part of his Royal Guard again. I did it before, after all.”

I knew that Branch Captain-san was childhood friends with the First Prince of this country, but this was the first I’ve heard that he was previously part of his Royal Guard.

But I do understand the Prince’s feelings of wanting Branch Captain to come back to be his Royal Guard. It’s better to have someone you can trust by your side after all.

“And the other reason is because my father and older brother who overheard the Prince’s desire are also telling me that ‘it’s about time you return to the Capital’.”

Branch Captain-san then made a troubled laugh.

“My father and older brother……and of course, my mother as well, are worrywarts. Even though I’m already at a considerable age, they can’t help but see me as the ‘youngest child’. They’re probably concerned if I’m being inconvenienced by being in such a cold remote region like where the Northern Fort is. They apparently seem to be particularly worried about whether or not I can safely get through the winter, seeing as they always send a letter asking, ‘Are you alive?’ every spring.”

As if to say that it couldn’t be helped, Branch Captain-san smiled while letting out a sigh.

He really is loved by his family. It even made my heart feel warm and cozy.

“Putting aside my family……I cannot ignore His Highness’ words. Supporting His Highness is my ultimate goal after all. That is why I intend on eventually returning to the Capital. Leaving Mil is……no, it’s too painful, so I’ve been trying hard to not think about it…….but eventually, I will have to go to achieve my goal.”

“When will that be? How many years way-ter?”

Feeling despondent, I brought the tip of my nose close to Branch Captain-san. I’ll have hurry and practice the transfer technique so that I’ll be able to freely visit Branch Captain-san in the future.

Branch Captain-san chuckled quietly and said, “I don’t know yet”.

“But like I said before, right now I don’t plan on returning to the Capital yet. I’m still too lacking to be His Highness’ Royal Guard. I want to train myself here. Surpassing Grail……might be a bit difficult, but at the very least I’d like to become capable of fighting on par with him. I’ll only start thinking about returning to the Capital after reaching that point.”

“The One-Eyed Knight?”

When I tilted my head, wondering why his name came up here, I noticed that Branch Captain-san was making an embarrassed expression.

Like many of the other knights that were at the Northern Fort, Branch Captain-san’s goal was the One-Eyed Knight’s strength.

That strength was also an indicator to estimate his own abilities. 

It may be that Branch Captain-san will only be able to confidently return to the Capital when he is able to stand shoulder-to-shoulder with the One-Eyed Knight.

“What I said just now is a secret, okay?”

Branch Captain-san seemed a bit uneasy at how loose-lipped I was, as he hastily forbade me to speak about it.

“Leave it to me! Then, Bwanch Captain-san, are you going to turn down the pwesant tawks?”

As I stood up on my hind legs, placing my front legs on Branch Captain’s knees as he crouched down, Branch Captain-san nodded at me reassuringly.

“Yeah. That’s what I plan on telling His Highness, my father and elder brother, as well as Captain Sarrell and the Knight Commander.”

Branch Captain-san rubbed my head.

Knight Commander-san was the highest ranking person in the Knight’s Order——-in other words, he was the leader of the Knight’s Order.

Right now, it seems that person is en route to the Northern Fort, bringing a letter to Branch Captain-san from the Prince. Apparently he will be arriving this evening.

That is why Branch Captain-san first intends on informing Knight Commander-san of his desire to stay here.

“Will Knight Ko-man-dur-san listen?”

“Probably. Since he knows how I ended up secluding myself in the Capital.”

He laughed self-deprecatingly. 

Hmm, I can’t help but feel worried about Branch Captain-san. He seems kinda weak to pressure after all.

It seems that Knight Commander-san will be staying at the fort from tomorrow onwards, so I’ll also have to ask him not to change the branch captain here at this fort.

And so, that night that I willfully resolved myself to that-

As I was preparing to sleep in our cave nest——-though there was plenty of hay laid out in my bed, ‘flattening’ it out so that I could sleep comfortably was my daily routine——Mother went out of her way to transform into her human form and faced me.

“Milfiria, I have something I must talk to you about.”

When I heard her say that in a serious tone of voice, I thought this.

I feel like I’ve heard that line before.

Indeed, she had said it previously when she had me house-sit on my own for an entire month.

(I have a bad feeling about this……)

Just what does she plan on having me do this time? Will Mother go to the Capital again?

I looked up at Mother with eyes filled with anxiety as I had such thoughts.

“Whaat is it……Mother?”

[I will need you to stay at home alone for a short period of time.]

If I can recall correctly, she started the talk like that last time.

That was my first time staying at home alone for more than a day, so I remember feeling extremely worried.

But now, I’d be able to stay at home alone for a month without any problems. Since my small world doesn’t just consist of Mother anymore. If I go to play with the One-Eyed Knight and everyone, Father, or Kugalg, I won’t have to be lonely as time passes.

Now, even if it’s being home alone for one month, or two, I’m already three years old so I can……no, as expected, two months would be a bit rough. If I wasn’t able to see Mother for that long, I’d get too lonely. Yup, two months is impossible. If it were a month and a half, then I can somehow——-

As I pondered such matters, Mother quietly opened her mouth.

“I would like to ask something of you. Starting tomorrow, I want you to go on an errand to the Capital on your own.”


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in At the Northern Fort and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to At the Northern Fort V2C5

  1. TurtleAppreciator says:

    Thank you for the chapter!

    Like

  2. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V2C6 | Kiriko Translations

  3. Cristina Belmar says:

    Uuuh! Adventure!
    Thanks for the chapter!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.