At the Northern Fort V2C17

At the Northern Fort V2C17: Crisis!?

Could it be that right now I’m about to be kidnapped?

Was this uncle the kind of dangerous person that likes small children? Or maybe he was planning on selling us somewhere, or knew our true identities and value.

The blood drained from my body. 

“Kugalg……!”

I turned to him to say we should run away, but Kugalg was just staring at the uncle motionlessly, and didn’t seem to have any sense of danger at all.

In a situation like this, I feel like he’d normally try to protect me, but he might not have realised that this uncle was a bad person.

“Kugalg!”

“I’ve caught you now.”

The uncle picked me up and gave a low, throaty chuckle.

“……!”

I fervently tried to struggle, but it didn’t seem like I’d be able to escape his beefy arms.

“Kugalg, help me! I’m gonna be killed!”

Kugalg tilted his head at my shout and calmly responded.

“Killed? But, isn’t that guy one of their friends?”

“Eh?”

Failing to understand his meaning, this time I was the one to tilt my head when-

“Are you satisfied now, Commander? Don’t scare the poor thing so much.”

The one who silently appeared from behind Kugalg was, to my amazement, Branch Captain-san.

His silky black hair was tucked behind one ear, and he was looking at the uncle with an exasperated expression.

“Bwanch…Captain…san……? It’s Bwanch Captain-san!!”

Completely forgetting that I was being carried by a suspicious uncle, my tail started to wag noisy underneath my raincoat.

Ehhh!? Why is he in a place like this!? What a coincidence! I’m so happy!

A little bit doubtful as to whether or not he was just a lookalike, I extended my neck towards Branch Captain-san and tried to sniff his scent despite being in my human form.

“Mil, you know that you shouldn’t follow people you don’t know. It’s fine because that guy is one of our acquaintances, but there are a lot of bad people in the world.”

After being told that by Branch Captain-san, I suddenly remembered the man behind me and turned around.

This bear-like uncle isn’t a kidnapper, but is Branch Captain-san’s acquaintance?

“He’s the Knight Order’s Commander.”

As if reading the question in my mind, Branch Captain-san told me the answer.

So this person is the one who brings the whole Knight’s Order together! He resembles the mental image I had of Branch Captain-san back when I had just arrived at the Northern Fort and didn’t know what Branch Captain-san looked like.

“I didn’t think you’d follow me so easily. I’m Gauss, nice to meet you!”

Commander-san guffawed boisterously and his large hand gave my head a rough and vigorous pat.

It felt like my hood and fur was about to be rubbed off, and my neck might just break. He was even stronger than the One-Eyed Knight.

Taking advantage of the momentary loosening of his arms, I hastily jumped down to the ground. My eyes were spinning.

Branch Captain-san kneeled in front of Kugalg and me, with my eyes still spinning, and said.

“Those suit you two even more than I thought they would.”

By ‘those’ he probably meant the raincoats.

‘Than he thought they would’……as expected, these were Branch Captain-san’s choice of clothes. Then does that mean that the one who put them inside the rucksack last night was also Branch Captain-san?

“Bwanch Captain-san, since when were you——-”

My words halted just as I was about to start questioning him.

Because I could see the One-Eyed Knight and Tina-san running over from the narrow alley behind Branch Captain-san.

Ah, Kix is also with them too.

I could tell that the instant I saw the One-Eyed Knight, my eyes widened as they started to sparkle.

“One-Eyed Knight!”

“Mil.”

I toddled quickly over to the One-Eyed Knight and energetically grabbed onto his leg.

“Say, why? Why are you here?”

My tail wagged rapidly and lifted up my raincoat. As the One-Eyed Knight picked me up, I tried his face all over. He really wasn’t an illusion.

Wahh, I’m so happy! I didn’t think we’d be able to meet in a place like this! What a touching reunion!

I was so excited that if I was in my fox form instead, I probably would’ve covered the One-Eyed Knight’s whole face in spit from licking. 

After three whole years since my reincarnation had passed, my repulsion against the act of ‘licking’ had pretty much disappeared.

Then, over the One-Eyed Knight’s shoulder, I saw Tina-san and Kix warily observing something on the other side of the alley.

At the same time, Branch Captain-san asked this of the One-Eyed Knight.

“Did they escape?”

“Yes, my apologies. They managed to throw us off.”

Hearing their serious tones of voice and seeing Kix not fooling around as usual made me anxious.

“Did something happen?”

Hesitating a bit, I asked the One-Eyed Knight about the situation.

“There were some suspicious men watching you guys from the shadows. I left you two to the Commander and Branch Captain and chased after them, but they got away.”

“Watching us? Maybe it was because we’re wearing such conspicuous outfits?”

I said while tugging on the hood that had slipped off my head.

We were a couple of kids walking around while wearing raincoats with ears like these on them after all. It was pretty normal for us to catch the attention of passersby.

However, the One-Eyed Knight shook his head.

“Their gazes were a bit different from other people. It seemed like they were either kidnappers after children, or they could have noticed that you two were spirits…….”

The latter half of his words were murmured in a low voice, as though he were muttering them to himself.

“In any case, your two person journey ends here. From here on out, we’ll be heading together with you guys to the Capital.”

“Ehh!? Yayy!”

It was only after I raised my arms up in a ‘hooray’ pose that I realised something.

“…….hm? But don’t you guys have some other work to do, One-Eyed Knight?”

While us meeting here was a coincidence, I wondered whether or not it was really okay for the One-Eyed Knight and everyone to abandon their own work to accompany us to the Capital. 

The one who answered my question was Tina-san.

“Hehe, our goal is also the Capital. Branch Captain has some business there. Plus we were also asked by Mil-chan’s mother to go there together with Mil-chan.”

“By Mother…….?”

I blinked dazedly. Just when in the world did Mother make such a request of the One-Eyed Knight and everyone?

(Huh? But wait a second. If everyone was planning on heading to the Capital from the beginning, then why didn’t they tell me that when I was first leaving the fort?)

If we had departed together from the beginning, then I wouldn’t have had to experience so much loneliness, right…….?

Noticing my doubtful expression, Kix spoke with a lighthearted tone.

“We figured it’d be interesting to secretly tail you from behind. Well, it actually was pretty funny. But Mil, you really should be a bit more aware of your surroundings. You don’t know who’s following you from behind after all. You really should use those eyes and ears of yours a bit more.”

“Wait…….everyone……..since when were you following me?”

“Ever since Mil was playing with the horses.”

That’s basically since the beginning!

If that’s the case, then say so sooner! If I knew that everyone was watching me, I wouldn’t have spent so much time playing with the horses and would’ve been more serious with going forward on my journey!

I pouted my lip, sulking.

It’s horrible to just silently tail me! Though I’m sure it was Kix’s idea to begin with!

Ah, now that I think of it, when I was setting off I decided that I’d be ‘independent from now on’, but when we reunited I ended up happily wagging my tail like normal.

I’m such a dummy.

I can’t stand having them think that I’m an easy girl, so let’s put out my angry aura at full blast for a period of time.

When I raised my chin haughtily and stayed silent-

“Don’t sulk. Sorry for not telling you.”

The One-Eyed Knight gave a helpless look and stroked my hair.

Even if you try to butter me up that way, I won’t forgive you. I do like being pet on the head but right now I’m angry……um, a little closer to my ears……right right, that place feels good. Yup, this is the best.

Very well, I’ll forgive you.

After that, when I glared at Kix, he apologized and said, “My bad, my bad”. 

Branch Captain-san also made a wry smile while saying, “I’m sorry”, so I’ll forgive him.

As he was an authority figure and also seemed pretty strong, I was a bit scared to blame Commander-san, and thus overlooked him. However, Tina-san was deeply guilty, having been the one to put that plushie into the rucksack.

When I turned my eyes towards her, she cutely said, “Sorry”. 

They really can’t be helped, honestly.

I’ll forgive all of you, so come with me to the Capital! You absolutely have to! Don’t leave me, alright!

With my good mood restored, I nuzzled my forehead up against the One-Eyed Knight’s cheek.

It was precisely because they were watching us from behind that they were able to discover the suspicious men, thus ending things before I faced any danger after all.

“Then as expected, the reason why the contents of the rucksack changed was because everyone changed them out…….um, I’m sorry, we ended up using most of the money you gave me……”

I said that while fidgeting guiltily, but the One-Eyed Knight and everyone didn’t seem to mind at all.

“That was Mil and Kugalg’s pocket money after all. It’s fine for you two to use it up. I do think you bought a bit too many legans but……everyone can eat them together.”

“Yeah!”

Thank goodness. With five adults with us, it looks like I’ll be able to avoid having my belly rupturing from legan consumption.

“Say, Bwanch Captain-san was the one who put these in, right?”

Saying that, I pointed towards my raincoat and Kix responded.

“Right right, we were also surprised at that. To think that he’d even bring something like that with him. Not only that, but he even had Kugalg’s coat properly prepared as well.”

“I just anticipated their need for them and brought them with me as a result.”

Branch Captain-san said that while acting like a reliable person, but I really wonder if that’s the truth? If we hadn’t needed them, wasn’t he just planning on making us wear them anyways? 

I started to become uneasy, wondering whether or not Branch Captain-san had even more outfits and accessories meant for us stuffed into his luggage.

“Now then, isn’t it about time we set off? If those men are small-time thugs that use this town as their base, then it’d probably be better to leave town ahead of time.”

After Commander-san urged us on and the One-Eyed Knight expressed his agreement, he then turned to Kugalg and I and asked.

“Let’s see……..we’ll be riding horses, but will Mill and Kugalg be okay staying in those forms?”

It might be easier to ride a horse in our human forms, but there was the possibility of our hoods slipping off as the horse ran. That would probably end up startling any passersby if they witnessed us, and the chances of a fox being outed as a spirit were probably lower.

After having the One-Eyed Knight place me back on the ground, I returned to my fox form. Seeing that, Kugalg also transformed into his panther form.

And then, as the fairy slipped out from underneath the hood, the raincoat that no longer fit me flopped down and covered my entire body.

“Huh? Where’s the exit?”

As I scrambled about on my own, I ended up butting heads with Kugalg, who was similarly struggling with being unable to see what was in front of him.

“Owwie!”

“Ow-…….!”

“Wait wait.”

“Stay still.”

The One-Eyed Knight and Tina-san both helped each of us to pull off the raincoats.

While still wearing the shawl and bunny rucksack, I shook my dishevelled fur coat to sloppily tidy it up. I also fixed up the necklace I received from Kugalg.

As we were doing that, it seemed that Branch Captain-san was checking to make sure that the suspicious men weren’t around the main street.

“Seems to be all clear. Ilus and the rest of the horses are being kept near the town’s entrance. Let’s head back there.”

After Branch Captain-san turned around and said that to me, the One-Eyed Knight picked me, the fairy sticking closely to me, and Kugalg up in his arms and hid us underneath his cloak.

Behind us, Kix seemed to be paying attention to the hole in the bag as he carried the legans. While he had probably been watching us as we bought them, when he once again saw the contents of the bag, I heard him exclaim, “So much!” in surprise.

As everyone started to walk, I figured that it’d be better to stay quiet until we left town and held my breath underneath the cloak.

I couldn’t see the surrounding scenery, but the One-Eyed Knight and everyone seemed to have retrieved their horses uneventfully before exiting the town of Gouda.

Upon returning to the highway, Kugalg and I were let out of the cloak around the time when everyone was mounting their horses.

Then, while using one hand to support all of us so that we wouldn’t fall from the horse, the One-Eyed Knight placed us in front of him.

Branch Captain-san gazed at the One-Eyed Knight’s arms, which had become an animal paradise, enviously while advancing to the front of the group and said-

“Let’s go. Pay attention to any followers.”

Gave the command to set off.

Branch Captain-san and the fairy, who was sitting on the tip of Ilus’ nose, were at the very front—since Mother had given the fairy the mission of guiding us, it seemed to especially want to stay at the very front of the party—and coming in second were us and the One-Eyed Knight, with Commander-san next to us.

And situated in the rear were Kix and Tina-san.

For a short period of time, we ran at a fairly moderate speed, but as Gouda fell further into the distance and the number of passersby on the highway died out, the situation completely changed.

It started when Kix gave the signal.

“They’ve come!”

Still gripping the reins, everyone looked back all at once.

While making sure that I wouldn’t tumble off of the horse’s back, I poked my head out from the One-Eyed Knight’s body and confirmed what was going on behind us.

“……!”

There were probably about five people. The entire group was dressed in black and riding horses, chasing us at full speed.

All of them were wearing cloaks that wrapped around them, almost completely concealing their faces.

The sharp eyes of the man running at the forefront felt as though they were looking through me, causing my heart to beat heavily.

Growing scared, I hastily hid behind the One-Eyed Knight’s body.

“We’re gonna run a bit.”

The One-Eyed Knight wrapped Kugalg and I firmly with his arms and said.

“Okay.”

I stuck tightly to Kugalg and hugged the One-Eyed Knight’s body.

The One-Eyed Knight and everyone rapidly increased their speed, but the suspicious group behind us didn’t fall behind and continued to keep up with us.

“They don’t seem to be small-time thugs.”

Though Commander-san murmured that, he didn’t show any signs of losing his composure in such a situation. As expected of him. His calm attitude relieved me as well.

I don’t know what the goal of the people chasing after us is, but the One-Eyed Knight and everyone are strong so it should be fine…….right?


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>


Translator Comments:

Looks like things are starting to heat up! Are you excited? Nee nee, are y’all excited?

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in At the Northern Fort and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to At the Northern Fort V2C17

  1. Tarodan says:

    Is the story’s first action scene finally here?

    Like

  2. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V2C18 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.