At the Northern Fort V3C6

At the Northern Fort V3C6: Handshake

Even after eating lunch, I remained at the fort. 

Usually when everyone starts their afternoon work, I would either return to Mother’s side, or go to play at Father’s place, but today I was worried about how Rekka-san was doing, so I stayed back to see how things were going.

Conveniently, this afternoon the One-Eyed Knight was to oversee Rekka-san and her group’s training, so I received permission to watch and went with him.

About thirty knights were already gathered on the spacious training grounds, but their shields and swords were still out, and they appeared to still be in the middle of preparations.

I got bored while waiting, and just as I started to rub my head against the One-Eyed Knight’s boots, I heard the voices of two knights having a dispute in the distance.

It was Kix and Rekka-san.

“Why do you take it like you’re trying to snatch it away?”

“It’s not like I had such intentions.”

In Rekka-san’s hands was a training sword that had its blade dulled. Apparently, Kix was handing that sword to Rekka-san, but didn’t like how she had received it. 

“Kix……”

Tina-san tried to intervene, but Kix glanced at Rekka-san and continued on.

“You’ve been really nasty these past three days. I told you, didn’t I? You have no right to say anything about how Mil is treated.”

“I know. I understand that. Mil-sama also does not seem to desire to be treated specially……”

“Then what’s your problem? Have I done anything else to you?”

Rekka-san shut her mouth at that question, and Kix spoke with an uncharacteristically serious tone of voice.

“I do think that it must be hard being a female knight, and I can mostly guess what’s happened to you. But don’t go lumping us together with all the other unpleasant male knights you’ve met up until now.”

“Kix, Rekka, what are you doing?”

As the One-Eyed Knight intervened, Rekka-san dropped her shoulders and left the area. 

Tina-san looked at Rekka-san’s disheartened back with worried eyes and then turned around and gave Kix a scolding look. Kix made an uncomfortable expression. 

On the other hand, the surrounding knights that had been watching didn’t take Kix’s side, but they also didn’t blame him or say things like, “Don’t go making a fuss over something like how she received a sword!”. 

It was likely that for all the knights other than Tina-san, they all had their own thoughts on Rekka-san’s attitude. 

The knights of the fort paid attention to the fact that she might be anxious over the fact that there were only two female knights, and thus had tried to speak with Rekka-san in their own clumsy ways to give her a peace of mind. However, as expected Rekka-san seemed on guard and always gave short responses. It probably hadn’t felt good for them to have her constantly vigilant against them despite the fact that they hadn’t done anything wrong.

It was scary in its own way when the rugged-faced knights tried their best to smile while approaching, and I had also initially been scared of everyone, so I understood Rekka-san’s feelings.

However, the knights of the fort were also pitiful, with all their efforts not at all being rewarded. Although I hoped that they could get along better somehow…….

The One-Eyed Knight was also sighing as he appeared to be carefully deliberating the situation.

After they finished preparing for the training session with an awkward atmosphere still lingering in the air, he first called Rekka-san to the centre of the field.

“Rekka, I’ve heard that you’re strong. Show me how much you can do. As for your opponent, let’s see……”

You’re going to have Rekka-san spar in this kind of atmosphere? -I grew worried.

Did the One-Eyed Knight have some sort of idea?

“Gregorio, ready your sword.”

The person that the One-Eyed Knight called up was one of the members of the Scary-Faced Squad, the red-haired, goateed Gregorio. 

He was even taller than Rekka-san, who was fairly tall for a woman, and his arms were thick. And, as expected, his face was scary……I wonder if Rekka-san will be okay?

“Stand ready.”

As the One-Eyed Knight said that, Gregorio and Rekka-san each readied their swords and shields. The corners of Gregorio’s lips were raised in a complacent expression, while Rekka-san had a serious face. 

And then, after the signal was given, Rekka-san immediately took a large step forward and swung her sword. Gregorio tried to receive the blow lightly, but it seemed that Rekka-san had more power behind her swing than he had expected, as he momentarily squinted his eyes while catching the blow with a sharp clanging sound. Just from watching, I could tell that Rekka-san’s single blow was heavy.

Compared to Tina-san’s smooth, flowing swordsmanship, Rekka-san’s swordsmanship was more like the One-Eyed Knight’s, focussing on power. She must’ve trained considerably, or else she probably wouldn’t be able to do such an attack as a woman. 

“Ohhh…….”

Voices of surprise came from the surroundings.

Although Gregorio still seemed to have some leeway, he wasn’t smiling like he had been initially. He simply continued to receive Rekka-san’s swift, continuous attacks. After hearing the sound of swords clashing ringing out countless times, my ears started to twitch and tremble.

Rekka-san was serious.

While it was a training match, she did not seem intent on holding back, and it could be said that she was swinging her sword with a ghastly expression.

I wonder if she was worried that the surrounding knights would look down on her if she were to lose here?

And then, finally, Rekka-san took advantage of a gap in Gregorio’s defences and managed to succeed in landing a single attack on his shoulder.

Because the training blade was dulled, it didn’t cut through his clothes or his body, but being struck at full force with a metal pole should still hurt. 

“That’s it.”

The One-Eyed Knight raised a hand, and Rekka-san let out a deep sigh before attempting to leave, without showing a single sign of delight at her victory.

But—

“Oi.”

It was then that Gregorio called her to a stop with a low voice.

A dead silence enveloped the training ground, and I moved my ears restlessly, unable to calm down.

Rekka-san, who had been about to leave, made a grim expression as she turned around, appearing nervous.

“Do you have any complaints?”

She spoke cautiously, exposing glimmers of a previous time when another male knight had lost to her like this, and then afterwards, unwilling to accept his loss, hurled abusive language at her.

I gulped. Just watching them made me feel like I was going to have a heart attack.

This is where I should step in and do something silly to soften the air. That is what I thought.

I wonder if they’ll laugh if I roll over and show my belly? Or maybe I should try making a happy-go-lucky face and run around the two of them? Would it be more interesting if I dug a hole and got myself covered in dirt?

And, as I pondered upon such thoughts, Gregorio gave a toothy grin.

“No, I don’t have any. I just wanted to say that you’re a lot better than I thought you’d be.”

Rekka-san’s eyes widened at his unexpected words, and she stiffened for a short while.

I had also thought that Gregorio was angry, but it appeared that was a needless fear. He’s not the sort of small person who would get mad at losing to a woman.

Rekka-san started to move again awkwardly as she apologised to Gregorio with the edges of her eyebrows lowered in a more friendly expression.

“My apologies. I couldn’t stand the thought of being looked down on, so I ended up throwing everything into it despite this only being a training battle.”

“I don’t mind. I was also about to hold back because you were a woman.”

Gregorio extended a hand and Rekka-san took it, shaking his hand in a slightly embarrassed manner. Seeing that, the surrounding knights also laughed. 

Everyone’s mood suddenly improved, as though the ice had finally melted.

Gregorio was openhearted, and perhaps it was because he was at the age where it wouldn’t be strange to call him an ‘uncle’ that he was more mentally mature. It might’ve been that the One-Eyed Knight figured that he’d be the most suitable person to dissolve Rekka-san’s wariness. 

And that was probably something that Gregorio himself realised to be his role the moment the One-Eyed Knight had called his name. 

“You’re strong. You seem to have quite a bit of physical strength for a woman. Do you wake up early in the morning like the Vice Cap to train?”

One of the Scary-Faced Squad that was watching from the surroundings – the fatty, Bauns – called out to Rekka-san.

“……no, I’m not that good with mornings. I just do what I can to train independently in my room at night.”

“At night? You’ve got some stamina there.”

Bauns said that he took out jerky made for humans from the pocket of his uniform despite it being in the middle of training and started eating it.

I’ve always thought that there was a nice scent about him. So he’s been keeping snacks in a place like that? I’ll remember that.

“I enjoy training my body. Muscle training calms my mind.”

As Rekka-san said that earnestly-

“So you were the same type of person as the Vice Cap……”

A crazy person came here, Bauns drew back. 

Rekka-san looked around at everyone from the fort, taking a deep breath before opening her mouth again.

“My apologies for my rude attitude up until now. I had heard that the Northern Fort was a gathering of ruffians, so I had steeled myself so that I wouldn’t be looked down on for being a woman……and acted coldly as a result. Kix too, I’m sorry for earlier.”

Her eyebrows that had been constantly raised drooped, and Rekka-san gave an honest apology.

“Come on.”

“Oi.”

“Kix.”

Then, Kix was forced out with slaps on the back and shoulders by his comrades. He too, held out a hand towards Rekka-san.

“Yeah, it was also my bad. Sorry.” 

Seeing the two of them shake hands embarrassedly made me happy too. 

Tina-san appeared relieved, as she had also been worried about the disagreement between Rekka-san and Kix. 

I had the One-Eyed Knight let me down to the ground, and I weaved my way between everyone with a smile.

If I was a human, I would’ve felt like skipping, so instead I leaped around a bit at times, jumping on the legs of Gregorio, Kix, and Rekka-san.

“Mil looks the happiest out of all of us.”

Kix said with a laugh.

When the fort’s atmosphere is good, it makes me happy too.


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in At the Northern Fort and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to At the Northern Fort V3C6

  1. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V3C5 | Kiriko Translations

  2. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V3C7 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.