At the Northern Fort V3C24

At the Northern Fort V3C24: Drills at the Fort (1)

A few days after I learned that Rekka-san had nyctophobia.

The fairy that I created that night still hadn’t disappeared, and remained floating near Rekka-san even during the day, so there was no need for me to create a new fairy every night.

“Mil-sama, thank you very much. Fairy-sama’s presence has been very reassuring.”

“I’m happy to hear that my power has been of help.”

All of the fairies I made up until now had been too free because I didn’t give them any duties after all. 

Everyone at the fort seemed mystified wondering why a fairy was sticking so close to Rekka-san, but when I gave the sloppy explanation of, “It got attached to her”, they gave a convinced, “Heh~”. 

I love how nobody pays too much heed to the minute details. 

However it truly did feel like it was attached. It seemed happy that it was called pretty on the night I created it.

But with this, Rekka-san was able to openly stay together with the fairy. During the night, she didn’t have to do muscle training despite being tired, and apparently was now able to sleep soundly. 

She also told me that she no longer had to do squats whenever she had the night guard shift. Instead, she could calmly throw herself into her work.

If she’s been working like that even before coming to the Northern Fort, it was only natural that she built muscle. 

The strength of Rekka-san’s sword arm was naturally due to the results of her usual training, but the muscle training that she did to offset her fear of the dark probably had some effect on it as well. 

The fairy’s light wasn’t strong enough to illuminate everything, but I hoped that Rekka-san would eventually be fine in dark areas even without the fairy after getting accustomed to dimly lit places.

And today, with Rekka-san being at her peak condition after getting a proper night’s rest, the fort was holding training drills.

Apparently, the knights were divided into teams, with one team on the defensive protecting the fort, and the other on the offensive. 

“One-Eyed Knight! Good morning.”

“It’s almost noon, but good morning, Mil.”

Yesterday, I heard what time the training drills were set to begin. Thus, I transferred from the nest at the set time, at which point the One-Eyed Knight picked me up and I began to look around in the surroundings. 

All of the knights were lined up in front of the fort, but their faces were even more fiendish than usual. 

It wasn’t because they were in a bad mood. Rather, it was the opposite. Because they were so excited for the training drill, their expressions were more belligerent than usual. Even though I was acquainted with everyone, their faces were so fearsome that it made me wonder where in the world these bandits had come from.

For the time being, I removed my gaze from the beastly faces of the knights, turning to look at Kix, who was acting as cheerful as usual; then Tina-san, who looked a little nervous; then Rekka-san, who had the fairy sitting on her shoulder; and lastly, Branch Captain-san, who had a nonchalant expression. Seeing them reconfirmed my thought that this wasn’t some bandit base, but the Northern Fort. 

When I arrived, Branch Captain-san was standing in front of everyone and was in the middle of explaining the rules for this training drill. They had held similar drills a number of times in the past, but it had been some time since the last one, and there was also Rekka-san, who had just arrived at the fort, so he was giving a review of the rules. 

As I listened to the explanation together with everyone, I understood that the One-Eyed Knight’s team was set as the offensive side, while Branch Captain-san’s team was on the defensive. 

In fact, the Northern Fort did not have sturdy walls to defend it, nor did it have a moat to prevent enemies from invading it. Apparently, it was designed this way after taking into account the heavy snowfall that was native to this region. 

If they built high walls, they would create shadows, which would prevent the piled up snow from melting. Even if the snow did melt, it would become difficult for the snowmelt to flow away. 

If the snowmelt couldn’t flow away, the inner area of the fort would get flooded, and when the water freezes again, walking on the ice would be a hazard. It was fine for me, since I could stand stably on four legs and my head was at a lower position, but for humans, they could die if they fell in a bad way. 

The reason why there was no moat was because it would be difficult to tell where it is when the snow piles up, thus introducing the risk of falling into it by accident. 

There were hardly any historical examples of an enemy army attacking the fort up until now, and the area was relatively safe for a region on the national border. Thus, the safety of the knights working here during the wintertime was probably prioritised. 

As a result, the Northern Fort was surrounded by iron fencing that I could easily infiltrate, but in exchange, the interior of the fort was complicated and easy to get lost in, with narrow passages and corridors that would be difficult to fight in. 

However, that also made it for the defending knights here to fight, so every now and then, they held training drills like this where they fought under the assumption that the fort would be breached. 

Branch Captain-san raised his voice so that everyone could hear him.

“The terms of victory and defeat will be changing for this drill. Those of us on the defensive will be hiding Mil in my office on the top floor, while those on the attacking side will be aiming to open the door to that room. It will be the defending side’s win if they are able to protect Mil from being snatched away.”

Morale would be higher if there was a prize at stake – even if that prize was just a fox cub, as everyone excited cheered, “Uwohhh!”. Even though they were wearing the uniforms of knights, they acted like excited bandits facing a treasure. 

Incidentally, I had already heard about this matter yesterday and had decided to properly fulfil my duty as a war trophy. 

For me, there wasn’t any danger involved, as all I had to do was relax inside of the room.

Even if the attacking team came, according to Branch Captain-san’s explanation, they’ll have already won as soon as the door was opened, so there wouldn’t be any battles unfolding in the space that I was in. 

In order to make the knights even more serious about the drill, Branch Captain-san put forth an additional condition.

“Also, the losing team will be prohibited from touching Mil for five days.”

As he said that, he shivered from his own words.

“EHHH!”

All of the knights began booing. From the perspective of a complete stranger, the training drill might seem like it was all for fun. However, everyone’s faces were serious. 

Branch Captain-san put on his icy mask and narrowed his frigid eyes.

“If you have any problems with being prohibited from touching her, then you should just win. That is all.”

“UWOHHH! WE HAVE TO WIN!”

War cries emerged here and there throughout the crowd. Rekka-san also appeared to have been swallowed up by the atmosphere, as she raised an arm while screaming together with everyone. Whether for the better or for the worse, she was gradually being infected by the Northern Fort’s aura. 

“The training drill will begin in 15 minutes. Until then, listen to your respective commanding officers and get ready.”

After Branch Captain-san said that, everyone began moving while breathing heavily.

Meanwhile, Branch Captain-san walked briskly towards me and then held out his two hands towards the One-Eyed Knight.

“Give me Mil.”

He said curtly while looking at the One-Eyed Knight.

The One-Eyed Knight looked back at Branch Captain-san for a second before handing me over. And then, he stroked my head and said-

“See you later. I’ll definitely come to steal you away.”

After leaving those parting words, he turned and headed outside of the fort.

It seemed that the One-Eyed Knight’s team would start their attack from outside of the fort.

“One-Eyed Knight’s so cool, isn’t he?”

I looked up at Branch Captain-san and sought his assent.

“Are you asking me that?”

Branch Captain-san made a troubled expression and continued.

“It vexes me to admit it, but he really is. But today, I will stop Grail.”

After declaring that, Branch Captain-san headed inside of the fort while hugging me to his chest.

“Now that I think of it, where’s Woodbaum? It’ll be dangerous if he’s outside.”

“It’s okay. I already had him move to the office.”

“Then that’s fine.”

And like Branch Captain-san said, when we entered the spacious office, Woodbaum was already sitting on top of the carpet inside. 

“Hey, Mil. Today’s the drill, right? I hope nobody gets too injured.”

“Yup, hopefully not.”

Branch Captain-san left me on top of the desk by the window, and then instructed Woodbaum to also not leave the room.

“This room is safe, but don’t get too close to the door. They might force it open after all.”

“Got it. Be careful.”

“Will do.”

Branch Captain-san gave a faint smile and kissed my forehead.

And then, he said, “I’ll be in front of the door”, and went out into the corridor. 

As I watched his back, I recalled how yesterday, Gregorio from the Scary-Faced Squad had also given a passionate kiss to the exact same place that Branch Captain-san had just kissed.


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>


Translator Comments:

So, Branch Captain has now had an indirect kiss….with Gregorio? lol.

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in At the Northern Fort and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to At the Northern Fort V3C24

  1. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V3C25 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.