At the Northern Fort V3C27

At the Northern Fort V3C27: Branch Captain-san and Rekka-san’s Ordeals

When I went to the fort in the afternoon, the One-Eyed Knight asked me to go call Woodbaum. Up until now, they had been providing two meals for Woodbaum each day – one in the morning and one in the evening – but apparently he had requested they only provide one meal during the afternoon starting from today. 

He had recovered considerably since he had arrived, and probably no longer required two meals a day for his recovery. 

It was when I was searching for Woodbaum, trotting outside on my lonesome. I suddenly felt a gaze and whirled around, only to discover Branch Captain-san’s figure in the shadows of the fort. 

“Ah, Bwanch Captain-san!”

I wonder why he was just secretly peeking at me without coming to greet me?

On top of that, as soon as Branch Captain-san realised he had been caught by me, he quickly turned heel and started to run away.

“Bwanch Captain-san?”

When I saw something running away, it made me want to chase after it, so I also started to dash after him. However, Branch Captain-san was like Rekka-san – his legs were fast.

You don’t need to run so seriously against a fox cub!

“Bwanch Captain-saaaan! Waiiiiit—!?”

As I ran after Branch Captain-san, my foot got caught on one of the tree roots that Woodbaum brought up yesterday and fell in an unsightly manner.

My chin hit the ground at full speed. Ow…….

“Bwanch Captain-san, Bwanch Captain-saaaan…….”

I cried in a tearful voice. It was impossible for me to continue chasing after him, so I tried having Branch Captain-san come to me on his own.

Worried after seeing me fall and not move anymore, I managed to successfully make Branch Captain-san come back to me.

“Mil, are you okay?”

He extended a hand towards me as though he were about to hug me up, but then suddenly stopped with a start and drew back.

I stood up myself and tried to go next to him, but Branch Captain-san avoided me.

“Mil…….I can’t. Please, stay away from me.”

Branch Captain-san’s brow scrunched up as he said that in a pained whisper. His voice was trembling faintly.

“I can’t touch you.”

“Don’t touch you, you say…….”

Why? -I thought, starting to grow sad. However, it was then that I finally realised it.

“Is this maybe because of the drill yesterday?”

The losing team was forbidden to touch me for five days. Was he being restricted by the rule that he came up with on his own?

Branch Captain-san nodded with a grave expression.

“That’s right. I cannot break the rule that I came up with…….-kuh.”

He covered his face with a hand, agonised. It was like he was saying,’ I can’t even look at you anymore!’

However, I felt relieved at seeing the earnest Branch Captain-san’s resistance to the matter. Thank goodness it wasn’t anything serious.

“So that’s all it was? You surprised me.”

Five days would pass soon enough for me, and after that period of time, I’ll be able to have him pet me again.

But for Branch Captain-san, five days was an awfully long period of time. He was already reaching his limits on the very first day.

“Then, it’ll probably be better if I don’t come near you. Good luck, Bwanch Captain-san. Bye bye!”

As I ran off to where Woodbaum was, I could hear a sad voice moaning, “Ahhhh, Mil…….”. 

Is he gonna be okay?

After that, I headed for the dining hall at Woodbaum’s invitation. The One-Eyed Knight had already prepared our meals at the dining hall. Now that I think of it, this is the first time I’ll be eating a meal together with Woodbaum.

“Yay! Today is meatballs!”

I was so happy, I ran circles around the plate placed on the floor.

However, it was then that I saw the large plate meant for Woodbaum next to mine, and stiffened. 

On top of that plate was a large mass of sliced cabbage and two thin carrots that were left in their entirety. 

Bewildered at his far too pitiful lunch menu, I looked up at the One-Eyed Knight.

“Eh? Is this…um…Woodbaum’s……lunch? This?”

If instead Woodbaum had been given meatballs while I got raw cabbage and carrots, I’m confident that I would cry. Some kind of error has been made here, right? -I thought to myself while deciding that I should have them give Woodbaum some delicious meatballs as well. 

However, as I panicked and stumbled on my words, only managed to get out an, “Um, um”, Woodbaum started to eat the raw cabbage. 

“I love cabbage. Although I only first had it when I came here.”

“Eh-”

I was so surprised that my eyes unconsciously went round with wonder. I see, Woodbaum is an herbivore. I was subconsciously only thinking about things from my own point of view. 

“You like carrots too?”

“Yup, they’re sweet and delicious.”

I looked at Woodbaum with disbelief. To think that he would like carrots. Next time I get carrots in my food, I’ll have Woodbaum eat them.

After I observed Woodbaum crunching away at his food, he seemed to think that I was watching him hungrily, as he said this.

“Does Milfiria want to eat cabbage and carrots too? I’m fine, so you can eat the rest.”

While he was calling it the ‘rest’ casually, Woodbaum had only eaten a bite of his food. He was even making the benevolent face of a mother of a poverty-stricken family sacrificing herself so her children could eat. 

“I’m fine, I have my meatballs.”

“You won’t be full with such a small amount, right? You’re still growing after all.”

“It’s okay. I don’t like raw cabbage and carrots either.”

“A child doesn’t need to fuss about this. There’s no need to hold back.”

“I’m not holding back.”

When I said that, he seemed to understand that I really didn’t actually want his food, as he said, “Then, it’ll be a waste to leave it so I’ll eat it” and resumed eating. Relieved, I began stuffing my cheeks with my own meatballs.

After finishing my meal, I sat on the One-Eyed Knight’s lap, licking the area around my mouth as I basked in the delicious aftertaste. So satisfied.

Compared to my speed-eating, Woodbaum was properly chewing as he slowly ate, so it took a bit longer for him to empty his plate.

It was then that the dining hall started to get noisy. The knights who had been training during the morning entered the hall, seeking water and food. 

I saw Kix, Tina-san and Rekka-san amongst them. 

“What shall we eat today?”

Hearing Rekka-san say that nonchalantly as she headed for the serving counter, Kix scrunched up his face and responded. 

“I’m surprised you can eat. I think I’d throw up if I ate anything right now.”

“No, it’s because we moved around so much that my stomach’s empty.” 

“You’re amazing……ah! Ain’t this Mil?”

Kix was smiling as he approached, so I quickly clung to the One-Eyed Knight’s hard thighs. It’s the end if Kix picks me up now. I’ll end up being rubbed continuously until his lunch break ends, and then my fur will end up in complete disarray.

Just as I thought, Kix clicked his tongue at my swift actions. If I stick to the One-Eyed Knight, Kix can’t touch me. 

As Kix talked with the One-Eyed Knight, holding a cup of water in hand, I quietly snuck a peek at Rekka-san. Next to her was Tina-san, who did not seem to be eating anything like Kix, but still accompanied Rekka-san in lining up at the serving counter.

The two of them met my gaze and smiled. The fairy that was riding on Rekka-san’s shoulder also noticed me and floated over.

“How was yesterday?”

At my question, the fairy despondently dropped its—or at least the part that seemed to be—shoulders. 

“I guess it wasn’t any good.”

Woodbaum said next to me.

In fact, in order for Rekka-san to overcome her phobias, she had started to ask the fairy to dim its light since yesterday night. 

The plan was to first cut the light to half its strength as she slept, and then once she was comfortable with that, further drop the intensity of the light. Eventually, the hope was that she would be fine even in the dark. 

It was something decided after the four of us had discussed it, and Rekka-san had also agreed, appearing eager to try. 

However, it seems like it didn’t work well. 

Well, that’s only natural since it’s only the first day, so let’s take it easy. –is what I thought, but—

After we finished eating our meal, Rekka-san brought me, Woodbaum, and Tina-san out of the dining hall and then kneeled on the ground.

“Last night was hopeless. My deepest apologies. I thought for sure that it would work.”

“Oh no, don’t apologise. It’s only been a day.”

“That’s right, let’s take it easy.”

Woodbaum and I encouraged her, but Rekka-san shook her head.

“It is pitiful to have no results despite having Spirit-samas, Fairy-sama, and Tina going out of their way to help me out. Even I feel that I wish to be cured swiftly……”

Rekka-san was probably driving herself into a corner, thinking that she had to get better quickly. It was because she had such a serious personality that once she resolved to cure her phobia, she ended up pouring everything into it. 

“Rekka-san, please don’t be in such a hurry.”

Tina-san placed a hand on Rekka-san’s shoulder to comfort her. I wonder if Rekka-san will be able to give herself some more room to breathe?


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in At the Northern Fort and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to At the Northern Fort V3C27

  1. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V3C28 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.