At the Northern Fort V4C13

At the Northern Fort V4C13: A Strange Incident (1)

“Wow, that was rather dreadful.”

While having his horse walk at an even pace, Kix said that as he rode on its back.

“To think that the daughter of the King’s younger brother would be that love-prone.”

“She’s cute, but that surprised me.”

Tina-san smiled bitterly.

Our picnic ended and we were in the midst of returning to the Northern Fort. We had said our farewells to Sharon and the other royals, Branch Captain-san’s family, and Commander-san, who were heading to Grandpa Lord’s mansion. Kugalg had also returned home, so right now there were only knights from the fort present. 

I was riding on Leader with the One-Eyed Knight while listening to everyone chat. Branch Captain-san looked like he wanted me to ride with him, but unfortunately right now I wanted to ride together with the One-Eyed Knight. 

Because I was still feeling the lingering burn of jealousy. I thought that the One-Eyed Knight was going to be taken away by Sharon. 

“Not only that, but she even fell in love with Vice Cap and Rhodes-san too.”

One of the younger members of the Scary-Faced Squad with a mohawk, Jetz, said in an amused manner. 

“But it’s really gonna be a real handful for His Highness Aske in the future.”

Rekka-san said. Incidentally, because Rekka-san was good-looking, Sharon also started to fall in love with her despite the fact that she was a woman.

While Sharon tended to fall in love with those who scold her, the person primarily had to be good-looking to begin with. It seemed like she’d unconditionally fall in love with anyone who looked good.

Rekka-san continued.

“His Highness Aske will probably be cautious about Sharon-sama falling in love with someone undesirable, but Sharon-sama is the type to fall in love with anyone and everyone after all.”

“He’s probably really worried.”

Kix also threw his opinion into the matter.

“If my little sis was like that, I’d be worried too. My youngest sister is only two, but the oldest is twelve, meaning she’s about to hit that age……I might have to go around erasing all the guys my little sisters fall for.”

“ “I understand that feeling.” ”

After hearing Kix’s words, the One-Eyed Knight and Branch Captain-san both nodded at the same time. Not only that, but Branch Captain-san glanced at me when saying that, while the One-Eyed Knight squeezed me slightly with his arms that were wrapped around my chest. 

Huh? Why does it feel like people’ll start dying if I fall in love……?

Upon arriving at the fort, I temporarily went back to Mother’s side, and then once again transferred to the fort when night came. It was only occasionally, but sometimes at night I would come to play at the fort before sleeping. Because around this time, everyone spends their time relaxing in the lounge.

“Mil, you came?”

Just as I finished transferring, I promptly heard the One-Eyed Knight’s voice from behind me. It seems like I managed to arrive perfectly on the One-Eyed Knight’s lap as he was sitting on the sofa.

As such, I rolled over on the spot so that I was facing upwards.

“You relaxed so quickly after arriving.”

The One-Eyed Knight laughed as he stroked my belly.

There were a lot of knights in the lounge, including Kix, Tina-san, and Rekka-san, who were chatting happily. The lounge’s window was left open, but no bugs came in. It seemed that this region didn’t have any bugs.

And compared to Japan, it got much cooler in the evening, even during the summer, which I was grateful for.

As I rolled around atop the One-Eyed Knight’s lap, Jetz entered the lounge. In his arms was a box filled with letters and small parcels. 

Big Bro Gatekeeper, who was sitting near the door, asked.

“Are you on package delivery duty today?”

“Yeah. Rhodes-san told me to. I don’t think I slacked off at all today though.”

Seeing Jetz’s unconvinced appearance, Big Bro said this.

“This afternoon, didn’t you say ‘Not only that, but she even fell in love with Vice Cap and Rhodes-san too.’ about Sharon-sama’s emophilia? You said it as though it was strange for someone to fall in love with Rhodes-san. While it looks like Vice Cap didn’t mind, when you said that, Rhodes-san glared at you a bit.”

“Ahh, so it was that.”

Jetz seemed to accept that explanation, as he began going around the lounge to distribute everyone’s packages.

“It’s a lot easier to distribute it at this time, since everyone’s gathered in the lounge…….hm?”

Upon seeing a certain letter, Jetz’s movements paused for a second. And then, he looked around the lounge, and upon finding Kix, walked over to him quickly.

“Oi, Kix! It’s a letter for you! The envelope says ‘urgent’ on it.”

“……what is it? It’s from my hometown. Moreover, it’s from my dad, how rare.”

Kix received the letter and began verifying the contents. The One-Eyed Knight and I somehow ended up looking in his direction, and as he silently read through the letter, Kix’s face began to grow visibly grim. 

“……hah?”

“What’s wrong?”

Tina-san, who was next to him, asked.

After he finished reading the letter, Kix’s eyes remained fixed on its contents, as he muttered in an incredulous manner.

“My younger sister……my two-year-old sister has disappeared……”

“Disappeared!? You mean she’s missing?”

The one who spoke was Tina-san, but everyone in the lounge was surprised. Of course, I was also astonished, as I jumped up from my belly-up position.

If it’s his two-year-old sister, then that would be the second youngest in his family, right? Since the youngest was the baby boy who was born just recently.

“What do you mean by missing? Has she passed away?”

“W-W-Wait a sec……I dunno how to deal with this.”

Kix even forgot to blink as he covered his mouth with one hand, before suddenly searching for me and coming this way. 

“Vice Cap, could I borrow her for a bit……?”

“Sure.”

And then, he hugged me before returning to his original seat and sitting down. Perhaps he was trying to calm his mind by stroking me, as he began stroking my head and back while rereading the letter.

“……my younger sister went with my father and other siblings to go shopping in town, and apparently it was there that she went missing.”

“If she had just gotten lost in town, then there should be plenty of adults around to help, so normally she should’ve been found quickly. At two, she shouldn’t be able to get very far of her own accord, and she’s also not at an age where she’d run away from home. Which means…someone kidnapped her?”

“I don’t know…..”

Kix’s hand trembled slightly as it stroked me.

While observing Kix’s state, the One-Eyed Knight asked.

“When did she go missing? It takes some time for a letter to arrive here, so it wouldn’t have happened today.”

“Yeah……according to the date that the letter was written, it seems like she went missing in the afternoon of the day before yesterday. Because they couldn’t find her even after sunset, my dad quickly wrote the letter to inform me.”

“That’s worrying. But the town near Kix’s hometown isn’t within our jurisdiction, so we’ll likely be rejected even if we go to help with the search.”

“That’s true……”

Kix hung his head. The knights in that region are probably searching diligently, and a single incident where ‘one child went missing’ wasn’t large enough for the knights here to interfere with. 

However, the One-Eyed Knight immediately continued with this.

“However, the one who went missing was your family member. Participating in the search of a family member is only natural. That’s why, head back to your hometown tomorrow. You can use a horse. I’m sure it’s hard for them with this happening when they have a newborn as well, so go help out your family.”

“Is that okay?”

“Of course. I’ll get permission from the Branch Captain.”

 “——that will be unnecessary. I will give permission now.”

The one who suddenly interjected into the conversation was Branch Captain-san, who had just entered the lounge. It appeared that he had just finished bathing, as he was holding a towel, and his damp hair was tied up casually into a bundle. He was also dressed casually, in clothes that seemed to be sleepwear.

“It’s rare for Branch Cap to come to the lounge.”

When Jetz said that, Branch Captain-san replied in a small whisper.

“Because I sensed that Mil was here……”

Then, he properly re-equipped his icy mask and continued with his “Branch Captain” face.

“Like Grail said, I will allow Kix to have a break from his usual duties. I will also allow Jetz, Gilles, Tina, and Rekka to take time off as well. You four are close to Kix after all. It isn’t strange for friends of a family whose child has gone missing to also join the search. If you are participating as friends, then it shouldn’t hurt the pride of the knights of that region.”

“Understood.”

“We will definitely find Kix’s younger sister!”

Tina-san nodded grandly, while Rekka-san shouted determinedly. Rekka-san has experienced the fear of being kidnapped when she was a child, so upon hearing that Kix’s younger sister might be in a similar situation, she probably couldn’t sit still. Jetz and Gilles also looked eager to join in.

“Thank you very much, Branch Cap. Thanks, everyone.”

“Depart early in the morning tomorrow. Today, you should sleep and prepare for tomorrow’s departure. While I’m sure you’d like to go immediately, if you ride fast at night, you might get into an accident.”

“Yes.”

I also wanted to go, but if I went, what use could I be? I could only see myself getting in the way, or causing some sort of unnecessary incident. 

But, if stroking me could calm Kix……and Kix wants me to come, then I’ll go. Thinking that, I looked up at Kix.

However, though his smile was a bit stiff, Kix was trying to reassure me.

“Did I worry you? I’m fine. I’ll be troubled if I brought you and even Mil got kidnapped, so stay here.”

“If you need my power, then call me! Alone, I’m not much use, but if I ask Mother and the others, I’m sure they’ll help too!”

“Thanks. But you know a lot of spirits, and if you look for help and we end up with a large gathering of spirits for the sake of my younger sister, that on its own would be a bit much……”

Kix laughed again, but as expected, his face was stiff.

It was then that Branch Captain-san asked this.

“Now that I think of it, Kix, is your younger sister blonde?”

“Yes, she’s blonde like me……”

“What does she look like? Is she cute?”

“Why are you asking that……she’s cute like me. I think that even without being biassed as a family member, she’s objectively cute.”

“Well, you’ve also got a baby-face. But if that’s the case then……”

“What is it? Is there some pervert out there targeting cute little girls with blonde hair?”

Kix’s tone of voice grew a bit harsh. He seemed to have imagined that someone like that had gotten ahold of his little sister, as his brow also furrowed. 

“No, rather than a pervert……lately there’s been a rise in cases where young, blond and black-haired boys and girls alike with good looks have been disappearing throughout the country. The culprit seems to be moving around, and we’ve told you guys about this too. That’s why we’ve increased the patrols in our jurisdiction.”

“What’s the culprit’s motive?”

“We don’t know. But, if the one who took your younger sister was the same person, then we can rest assured a little. Up until now, all of the children who were taken by that culprit haven’t been left with any traumatic memories, and they all return to their parents after a few hours healthy and well.”

Hearing Branch Captain-san’s explanation, a faint glimmer of hope sparkled in Kix’s eyes.


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in At the Northern Fort and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to At the Northern Fort V4C13

  1. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V4C14 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.