At the Northern Fort V4C34

At the Northern Fort V4C34: Darkness, Snow, Light, and Water – In Other Words, Chaos (2)

And then, suddenly coming to a realisation, San Narcissus turned to face my mother’s direction. Mother was also looking back at San Narcissus, an unfamiliar spirit, with caution. 

San Narcissus spoke.

“You have a similar ‘aura’ to Milfiria. Are you the Snow Spirit? What did you do to Lunabella.”

I should be the one asking what you did. To think that the Darkness Spirit and Light Spirit would join hands to kidnap children. You even tried to make a move on Milfiria.” 

Mother stood up, returning to her humanoid form as she glared at San Narcissus and Lunabella.

However, San Narcissus also glared back strongly at Mother.

“Did you attack Lunabella? If you laid a hand on her, then I won’t let you off easily.”

“Hou. Then why don’t you show me what you’ve got?”

Mother smiled coldly at San Narcissus, who took a step forward.

“San Narcissus……!”

Lunabella returned to her humanoid form in an attempt to stop San Narcissus, but like Mother, he was a spirit who wouldn’t listen to what other people had to say once he lost his temper.

“Don’t think that the likes of a snow spirit can defeat light itself!”

“P-Please, don’t speak so arrogantly at a time like this……! We’re in a position where we are the ones who should be apologising.”

Lunabella was about to cry, but Mother’s brow furrowed after hearing San Narcissus’ words.

“What did you say!? Just how powerful can a light spirit really be!?”

“Then how about I show you my might!?”

San Narcissus raised a hand into the air, and his palm began to fill with light. It was as if a small sun, shining with a gold light, had formed on his hand. It was impossible to look directly at it.

“Too bright!”

Father picked me up as I screwed my eyes shut, and promptly put a distance between us and San Narcissus. Tina-san, who was holding Kugalg, the One-Eyed Knight, Branch Captain-san, Kix, Rekka-san, and other knights also evacuated the area around San Narcissus, Mother, and Lunabella. 

“Oi oi, we’d really appreciate it if you didn’t fight here.”

Kix said the most reasonable thing.

“Will Mother be okay?”

Worried for Mother, I turned back to look. Mother remained undaunted by San Narcissus’ display of might, as she too began to flaunt her powers.

“So what of that light! My blizzard is far stronger!”

Ahh, another blizzard is starting to form around Mother……

“T-The both of you, please stop!”

Lunabella tried to stop them, but her voice was so small that there was no way it would reach the ears of San Narcissus and Mother, who were both enraged beyond words.

Right now, San Narcissus and Mother were in a state where they wished to prove that their own powers were more amazing. While they weren’t attacking each other, if their contest of strength continued, then there would certainly be casualties in their surroundings.

“F-Father……”

Seeking Father’s help, I looked up at him. Father had a laid back personality, so he wouldn’t flare up and get to the point where he wouldn’t listen to what others had to say. That is why he was comparatively ‘safer’ to deal with.

I was concerned about the fact that he had grabbed San Narcissus’ collar for some reason, but for the time being I decided to put off thinking about that.

“Father, please stop Mother and San Narcissus……at this rate, the two might get injured, and there might be casualties among everyone else.”

When I appealed to him, crying out, ‘kyun kyun’, Father looked down at me and slowly nodded.

“……that’s true. I’ll go stop them.”

As expected of Father! He listened so easily! Thank you!

Father handed me to the One-Eyed Knight, who was next to him, and then slowly began to walk towards Mother and San Narcissus.

Um, Father, you could be in a bit more of a hurry, you know! Also, it’d probably be better if you left that large basket here so it doesn’t get in the way later!

My heart’s cry did not reach him, but Father certainly did manage to approach Mother within the blizzard. 

“I am stronger!” (Snowlea)

“No, I’m overwhelmingly stronger!” (San Narcissus)

The blizzard gradually grew fiercer, while the light being emitted by San Narcissus grew increasingly more radiant. The whole area around them was cold, blindingly bright, and was the scene of chaos.

“Snowlea……”

However, even in this kind of situation Father did things at his own pace, as he tapped the shoulder of the angry Mother while calling out to her.

“Snowlea……”

“What is it, Waterust!? You’re in the way! I’m busy right now!”

“It isn’t good……to argue…….it’ll put…Milfiria……in danger too.”

Father said that in an attempt to convince her, but Mother simply glared sternly back at Father while shouting,

“What are you saying so leisurely!? These two tried to kidnap Milfira, you know!? When I returned here, the Darkness Spirit was right by Milfiria’s side!”

“They tried to……kidnap Milfira……?”

After Father heard Mother’s words, the air in the area changed.

It was as though a stone was thrown into a calm pond, causing ripples, and then waves to form. A disquieting air enveloped Father.

“Motherrr! Don’t say unnecessary things!!”

Moreover, Mother really was jumping to conclusions to say that Lunabella tried to kidnap me!

The one that actually carried me off was San Narcissus, but I’ll keep that quiet for now. First, I had to calm Mother and Father down—.

As I had such thoughts, San Narcissus also defended Lunabella and shouted in protest, “That is a misunderstanding!”. 

“It is true that I kidnapped Milfiira, and tried to make her my child, but Lunabella did not do such a thing!”

“Uwahhh! San Narshish, shut up for a bit!”

I shouted, trying to interrupt San Narcissus’ words, but it seemed like Mother and Father had heard enough.

“Make her…your child……? As expected……”

Despite the fact that Father was usually expressionless, right now he was squinting his eyes and looking at San Narcissus in a furious manner. He then raised a hand, creating several balls of water. Those balls of water then changed in shape, turning into water swords.

“Don’t fight—!”

“Mil!”

I jumped out of the One-Eyed Knight’s arms, and hastily ran to Father and Mother.

This is bad, really bad! If even Father gets mad, then nobody will be able to stop the fight. A fight between spirits will be far too much for human knights to handle, and it’s impossible for Kugalg to do anything either. The gentle and timid Lunabella also probably wouldn’t be able to stop the three of them.

(I have to do it.)

I closed my eyes while diving into the blindingly bright blizzard where Mother and San Narcissus’ powers were clashing.

“Father, Mother, stop—”

“Mil! Come back!”

Behind me, the One-Eyed Knight and the other knights also dashed this way.

No no, it’ll be dangerous if everyone comes here! -I thought, and it was just when I was about to turn back when-

“—I…I also need to be more reliable.”

-I felt like I heard Lunabella’s voice say that.

“The still-young Milfiria-chan and the humans are desperately trying to stop these three spirits…….”

Many of Father’s water swords were floating in the air, San Narcissus’ light was swallowing up the fort, and Mother’s blizzard was freezing the surroundings.

In the next instant, such a chaotic situation fell silent.

As though the sun itself had been extinguished, the scene before me suddenly went dark.

The surrounding scenery was enveloped in darkness, and I was no longer able to see San Narcissus’ light.

“Everyone, please calm down a little.”

Lunabella’s voice echoed from somewhere. It was not the timid voice that she had earlier, but instead was a dignified voice.

It was then that a sudden sleepiness assaulted me, as I fell to the ground.

My eyelids closed of their own accord in the darkness.

(The moment just before falling asleep like this feels super comfortable…….)

Despite the situation being like this, I had such a thought as I comfortably fell asleep.


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>


Translator Comments:

I guess in the end, the Spirit of Darkness was the strongest spirit of them all…….who could really fight a good night’s sleep, ya know?

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in At the Northern Fort and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to At the Northern Fort V4C34

  1. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V4C35 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.