CSWH Chapter 134

CSWH Chapter 134: To the Place of the Decisive Battle

Making our mark with the brilliant victory of our first battle, we then hid ourselves in the Rinmel Principality.

That was in order to wait and see how the enemy would move.

Though we certainly were victorious in our first battle, that did not mean that the enemy had been driven into catastrophic straits.

I hope that they don’t make any moves…….if possible, I’d like if things just ended like this.

Even while I hoped for that, deep inside I knew that things wouldn’t end so easily.

According to our plan, in order to counter that, Elder Brother was supposed to come as our reinforcements as soon as they finished subjugating Wiel-oji-sama in Father’s stead, who could not easily leave the country when considering things from a defensive point of view……

If the enemy started to move before Elder Brother arrived, we would be driven into an overwhelmingly disadvantaged situation.

But even while knowing that, if we were to withdraw, the enemy would easily rush into Tasmeria Kingdom.

That was precisely why we continued to wait here.

In order to gain as much time as possible until Elder Brother and his forces arrived.

We contained the enemy forces and maintained a lookout.

Continually sleeping outdoors was rough, but we somehow managed to keep going on thanks to the supplies that Rui sent us.

Even though we came here at a considerably high speed, he had managed to finish gathering supplies and sending them to us in such a short amount of time.

My fiancé really is…….a reliable and amazing person.

With the supplies before me, I pondered upon such thoughts.

“Mellice-sama!”

From the flustered call, I could generally imagine what would be said next, but I maintained my calm as much as possible.

“What is it?”

“There’s been a report from our scout…….the enemy has reorganized their formation and have started moving again.”

I let out a sigh internally.

What I had feared would happen really did happen.

“The reinforcements from Tasmeria Kingdom?”

“They still haven’t been sighted……”

“I see……then, the map.”

I had another person bring me the map and had the messenger use it to report.

The enemy’s numbers, their current position, and their anticipated route.

As I listened to the report, I visualized the battle inside my head.

……with Elder Brother having yet to arrive, surprise attacks and ambushes were the best means of attack for us, with our inferior numbers.

With the experience from our previous surprise attack, the enemy will likely be on their guard, and thus will not use that narrow path.

In reality, the route that the scout pointed out was a spacious plain.

On top of that, there wasn’t enough time to plant any traps.

What to do……? What should we do?

Is there something I can use?

[Something] that will allow us to repel the enemy with our inferior numbers.

We cannot allow them to enter Tasmeria Kingdom.

If they do manage to get into Tasmeria Kingdom, then the Kingdom would have to mobilize the Army.

If it comes to that……then what would happen to our relations with the Rinmel Principality? With our current armistice with Towair, how would Towair move?

The peace that Father’s generation managed to grasp……what would happen to it?

“……all of you have fought plenty well. To the point that one wouldn’t think you were a Guard Corps from a single territory…….”

Despite that, nothing came to mind.

Even if we were to wager everyone’s lives here, it would only serve to buy time.

While I understood that……I still could not give the order to withdraw.

As such, my voice quavered.

……hurry up and say it.

Tell everyone to leave this place.

“……if we were to leave here, then the enemy would reach Tasmeria Kingdom. Isn’t that right?”

The one who interrupted my words was Shurei-san.

“Our master’s name would fall, and his honour snatched away. On top of that, either the Rinmel Principality or Country of Towair could start to move……with that in mind, there is but a single road that we must take, is there not?”

“……I cannot tell all of you to die.”

“But you have no intention of withdrawing here…….am I wrong?”

Hearing his rather sharply asked question, I felt my throat clog up.

“Then there’s only one path for me to choose…….please allow me to accompany you until the end.”

As he said that, he made the bow of a vassal.

Following him, everyone surrounding us took upon the same stance.

……my chest hurt.

Their loyalty made me happy. And at the same time, I felt how foolish I was for trying to drag them down with me.

“……I will allow it. Gallop forth with me until the very end.”

“It is my humble pleasure.”

I momentarily closed my eyes.

So that I did not shed tears in front of them.

……crying should be left until everything has ended.

“If you return alive, then I’ll book out Madam Calui’s entire store!”

In that instant, the area surged with joy.

“Ohh, that’s great. I’ll be even more popular than someone like Kuroitsu.”

“I-I……I’ll confess to Luluria-chan for sure this time!”

Laughing at those words, everyone jeered at the speaker.

Though the exchange felt like a brave front, nobody pointed that out.

Everyone instead chose to voice light-hearted words……because it wasn’t like the situation would change.

And while maintaining the strange excitement, we stayed up all night.


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in CSWH and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CSWH Chapter 134

  1. Nyamachi says:

    Thank you!!! > o < The chapter sent chills down my spine~ Eagerly anticipating the battle!

    Like

  2. Pingback: CSWH Chapter 135 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.