CSWH Chapter 133

CSWH Chapter 133: The General’s Battlefield

“General! We’ve crushed the enemy!”

The battle against the mercenaries in the Anderson territory unrolled before me.

Parx devised the battle plan based on the information brought by Alf’s subordinates, while I enacted the plans together with a small number of Guard Corps’ members.

To avoid revealing ourselves, we efficiently continued to crush the hidden groups of mercenaries one by one.

“……just a little more.”

“Yes. The next one will be the last.”

“……let’s hurry.”

Naturally, I was also aware that Nord was about to move out from the Rinmel Principality.

I was in a hurry because I knew that.

I took everyone with me and headed for the final hiding point.

After placing personnel at the entrance and backdoor of a building set in the Anderson territory, we rushed inside.

Running into the building, we checked the rooms one by one.

And then, when we opened the door to the last room, there were ten men inside.

“……that’s Nord!”

“What did you say?”

Alf’s subordinate pointed at one of the people amongst them.

According to our prior information, Nord should have been raising an army in the Rinmel Principality……I thought to myself, bewildered internally.

However, there’s no way that Alf’s subordinate, who knew Nord, would be mistaken.

……that being the case, then just who was the one raising the army in the Rinmel Principality……

“……hello, it’s nice to meet you. As introduced, I am Nord. I’m pleased to make your acquaintance.”

But after the person himself admitted to it, my confusion was blown away.

“I see…….so you are the root of this evil.”

After murmuring that, I attacked Nord.

When I was just in front of him, he somehow managed to dodge backwards.

In that moment, the members of the Guard Corps slayed the other men.

“Wa-……wait, let’s talk.”

“I don’t seem to have anything to talk to you about?”

“No, I have something that you don’t know about. If I tell you, will you let me off?”

“……who would let you go. And you’re the one who wanted to start talking as you liked.”

I swung my sword without any mercy.

Unable to avoid it, Nord’s sword was sent flying.

Continuing my sword swing to prevent him from getting away, I slashed at him.

The slash created a wound that put him on the verge of death, where whether he could be saved or not was in the air.

“So, what did you want to say?”

Holding my sword that dripped with blood at the ready, I crouched and questioned him.

The members of the Guard Corps standing in wait behind me somehow seemed to let out a cold sweat upon seeing me, but I didn’t have the time to be paying any heed to that.

“I think that speaking quickly would be better for you, don’t you?”

I glared at him once more.

My gaze made Nord twitch in fear, and his body trembled as he opened his mouth.

“Wh-…….when do you think my connection with Cordis began?”

“Hmm……wasn’t it around the time Wiel started embezzling iron?”

Nord laughed at my answer.

“There’s no way it’s that simple. Our connection began far before that……around the time when the war with Towair ended.”

“……when the war with Towair ended?”

“Yeah, that’s right. I took on Cordis-sama’s request and gave weapons to Towair as a present…….but we were seen at that time. Seen giving them the weapons. By your wife.”

“…….by Melilda?”

“Yeah, that’s right. We sent weapons to Towair thinking that they’d win, but to think they’d lose…….and after they lost, we retreated since it’d be troublesome if our connection was discovered but……we were unable to find the girl who saw me. After that, we spent a long time searching for her…….but we didn’t think she’d be Gazelle-dono’s wife.”

The reason why he hadn’t realized that was likely because soon after the war with Towair, the country altered the records of her personal history.

Though she was a daughter of the Count Sezun House, she was adopted by a Baron House.

In order to avoid having that fact exposed, and because of the time spent birthing and raising Parx and Mellice, she did not go out into the public eye much, with the exception of a few private tea parties.

“We only realized it when she started to attend parties. And then, we spent a year investigating her surroundings……at which point we noticed Wiel-dono’s ambitions. Well, thanks to him things ended without me having to dirty my hands, so I’m quite thankful to Wiel-dono, yup. And that information allowed me to negotiate with him a bit.”

“……I see. Well, it’s not like you hurt Melilda directly……I suppose.”

I murmured so softly that he couldn’t hear me.

“……but, it is a fact that you were the one who put Wiel up to it. As expected, I can’t let that go.”

And then, I cut Nord down.

“……Parx!”

“Yes.”

“If Nord was here, then that changes the assumption that he was marching from the Rinmel Principality! Hurry up and take the Guard Corps to Mellice in Rinmel Principality!”

“Understood!”

I once again looked down on Nord.

“Were you also just being used by Cordis, or……well, in the end, you picked a fight with us. That’s all there is to it.”

After muttering that, I left the area.


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in CSWH and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CSWH Chapter 133

  1. Nyamachi says:

    Whoaa~ ah I had to do a double take since I started reading it thinking it was from Mellice’s perspective. So Cordis seems to be the one behind everything? That means that Mellice might be walking into a trap? Thank you for the chapter!

    Like

  2. Pingback: CSWH Chapter 134 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.