At the Northern Fort V1C20

At the Northern Fort V1C20: Unrest

I wonder how many days have passed since I came to this fort?

Every day has passed pleasantly and peacefully.

Early in the morning, I would accompany the One-Eyed Knight during his independent training, and then we’d go to the dining hall and have breakfast.

After that, I would part with the One-Eyed Knight so that he could go work, and amuse myself by playing alone outside.

My playing pattern was mostly set, and I would either enjoy myself by making pawprints on the freshly fallen slow, or racing around the buildings at full speed, or digging holes into the accumulated snow, or playing detective by following the residual scents left by people on the ground. Such were the standard forms of play I had.

When snowballs formed on my fur from running around in the snow, it was custom that I’d go to the Aniki at the gate to help get them off.

In addition, there was a narrow garden in the opposite direction of the barracks, which had a bare tree that always had fruit placed on it. So, I would go there to observe the little birds that gathered there, aiming for the fruit. The little birds looked down on me, so as long as I didn’t come too close, they wouldn’t run away.

Besides, the tiny claw prints left on top of the snow by the little birds were unbelievably cute. Just looking at them was mentally healing. 

As it started to approach noon, I would go to the stables and greet the horses. Branch Captain-san would come around that time too, so I’d play around with him. I’m the Branch Captain-san’s friend after all. Until he’s able to make a human friend, I will be his bosom friend. 

Branch Captain-san would come to the stables almost every day before noon. It wasn’t like he was skipping out on work, as he’d only come after finishing all of the work that needed to be done in the morning, taking an early break to visit. 

Incidentally, when interacting with Branch Captain-san, I was careful not to be too aggressive when contacting him. Perhaps due to a side effect of not having any friends, Branch Captain-san wasn’t used to being in contact with others. As proof of that, one time when I nestled up against him while shaking my tail, he had a nosebleed.

I didn’t know this until now, but even when a beautiful person has a nosebleed, it somehow appears picturesque. What a pointless discovery.

When Ilus and I got worried and surrounded Branch Captain-san, with the voices of our hearts asking, “Are you okay? What’s wrong?”, the situation got even worse. His legs seemed to lose strength, as he became unable to stand, and he crouched down while pressing down on his nose. On top of that, he was trembling a little.

But his face looked incredibly happy after all, so it was probably because he wasn’t used to coming into such close contact with other people. He might’ve just gotten a bit excited at having me as his new friend. What a delicate person.

After that, Branch Captain-san took an expensive-looking handkerchief out from his pocket and wiped away the blood. Embarrassed, he said, “I’m alright, I just wasn’t prepared enough”, trying to make excuses, but I wouldn’t stop being his friend just because he had a little nosebleed, so I hoped he wouldn’t worry about it too much. It’s alright.

Somehow, an entirely different kind of emotion from what I feel for the One-Eyed Knight was sprouting for Branch Captain-san. Just what is this feeling?

Then, when the time for lunch break arrived, Branch Captain-san sorrowfully – in a truly sorrowful manner – left the stables, and in exchange, the One-Eyed Knight would come to pick me up.

During his break, the One-Eyed Knight would play with me, spoil me, and give me jerky as a snack. It is a blissful time.

In the afternoon, I’d part again with the One-Eyed Knight as he had to start working again, and would go to have an afternoon nap in the stables. If I don’t take a nap at this time, my young self won’t last until evening.

At first, I used to sleep on the snow in the shadows of the building, but I was scared of being attacked by a wild dog in my sleep, so now I’m making use of the stables. The One-Eyed Knight’s horse was here, so it gave me a peace of mind. It was heartening to know that Leader would protect me if anything were to happen.

After waking up from my nap, I would devote myself to playing alone, and at times when I got lonely, I’d spend some time with the passing knights that were walking around outside. They’re probably in the middle of work, or busy going somewhere, so I was careful not to take up too much of their time.

Around evening time, the One-Eyed Knight would come to get me before it got dark. He’d come before his work hours had finished, so he’d bring me to his office, and I’d obediently wait at his feet as he sat at his desk.

Once his work was completely finished, it was the long-awaited dinnertime. We eat dinner together with the other knights in the bustling dining hall.

I’ve become able to completely relax around Tina-san, and I’ve also gotten accustomed to the Scary-Faced Squad’s intimidating faces. I was always on guard against Kix’s sudden attacks, but sometimes he managed to grab the opportunity to send me flying up high again. But lately I’ve become used to that as well, so being lifted high up in the air started to be fun, a bit like riding on a free falling ride in an amusement park. I could get addicted to that moment of freefall, where it felt as though my stomach was about to fly out of my mouth.

If the One-Eyed Knight was like a reliable father, Tina-san was a kind older sister, and the knights at the fort were caring sturdy older brothers. Branch Captain-san was a delicate friend that needed to be worried about, while Kix was a playmate who’d do stupid things with me……or maybe he was a slightly bothersome younger brother.

In this world, my only family member was Mother, so having gained a large family like this made me pretty happy.

And then, once we finished eating dinner, we’d head for the lounge and it’d be the One-Eyed Knight’s bathtime. I’d spend the time waiting by having Tina-san brush me, or playing around boisterously with Kix. Incidentally, Kix only bathes once every four days. How filthy. 

One thing that I had to watch out for when I was in the lounge, was to not make too much of a ruckus. Since when everyone gets too excited, Branch Captain-san will come to complain that we’re being too noisy while making an envious expression. 

Would someone please become his friend……

There was one time when I got to enter the bath that I was curious about. Rather, I was forcefully brought into it. On a sunny day, I ran around on the ground, where the snow had melted and turned into slush. I got so dirty that even I was surprised at how filthy my body got. 

At the start, I was a bit excited when the One-Eyed Knight brought me to the bathing area, but then had a fright when he started to take off his clothes in the dressing room. It was inevitable that I’d see him change in his room, but he didn’t take off his underwear during those times.

However, this is the bath. It was only natural for him to take off his underwear too.

In the dressing room, I saw the stark naked appearances of the other knights as well, and on top of that, Branch Captain-san was there too, making fleeting glances my way——-he was probably embarrassed that a baby fox like me was his friend. He wouldn’t smile at me in front of other people like how he did when at the stables, and he even treated me a bit coldly. What a bashful guy——-he was also about to take off his clothes, so I quickly plotted my breakout from the dressing room. Why must I undergo the grievous treatment of having to bathe with a bunch of butt-naked guys. 

However, my escape ended in failure, as the One-Eyed Knight easily caught me by the scruff of my neck and dragged me to the bathing area. Both the One-Eyed Knight and the other knights simply thought that I didn’t want to get in the bath. Everyone was laughing, “It can’t be helped”, but it wasn’t a laughing matter for me.

As I was being washed in the bath, I absolutely refused to open my eyes. Look…….in my previous life, I died as a pure young girl in both heart and body before I could become an adult…….so if I were to see that in close proximity, I might just end up being traumatised…….

Incidentally, I did not soak in the hot spring. I did have some interest in it, but the One-Eyed Knight gave me the warning, “It’ll probably be too hot for you”. Also, it’d be pretty dangerous trying to get in with my eyes closed.

Since I felt some sort of [Fire Energy] from the hot spring, it looked like I wouldn’t be very compatible with it. The hot spring was composed of heated water that gushed up from underground——-and had a far stronger [Flame Energy] compared to regular boiled water. It did not make me dip my body into it. 

After the bath ended, we returned to the barracks, and I would retire for bed together with the One-Eyed Knight.

I really liked the moment just before bed, when he’d say, “Good night”, and gently stroke my head. It was like a charm for a good night’s rest.

Like this, my days passed peacefully. All of the knights at the fort were kind, and nobody bullied me. Plus, the wild dog never appeared within the premises of the fort again.

Amidst those tranquil days, I thought to myself, it’s already been about two weeks since I came here huh. At which point I suddenly remembered Mother. My housesitting period should just about be coming to an end.

(If I don’t hurry up and head back to the nest on the mountaintop, Mother will be worried when she returns.)

However, if I just leave here without telling anyone, the One-Eyed Knight and everyone will probably be worried about my safety again. At times like these, it would be truly helpful to be able to speak.

I can’t give them my thanks for taking care of me, nor could I wave my hand to express my farewells. I also can’t make a promise to meet up again.

But, if I keep staying here then Mother will…….

On the afternoon of a certain day, I went around the fort, hesitating while gazing at the iron fencing that enclosed it. My small body could easily slip through the gaps of the fencing. It was possible to leave here in the same way that I entered.

However, parting from the One-Eyed Knight and everyone was hard, and my legs wouldn’t go forward. Even if I return to the mountain nest, I plan on coming here to visit everyone again, but I don’t know when that will be. Would Mother cheerfully let me come here to play?

As I sat on top of the snow in thought, the snowfall gradually grew more violent. Before I knew it, the wind picked up, and I was almost blown away.

Even though it had just been sunny earlier, the weather changed within the blink of an eye, transforming into a blizzard. It turned into a beautiful snow monster, forcibly painting the surroundings white. 

(It’ll be impossible to travel in this blizzard.)

Since a good excuse to prolong my farewell with the One-Eyed Knight and everyone had been made, I headed back into the building to take refuge.

The blizzard did not settle even after a whole three days after that.


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in At the Northern Fort and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to At the Northern Fort V1C20

  1. Carmeops Renard says:

    momma is heeeere

    Like

  2. zekkendo says:

    Angry mama incoming?

    Like

  3. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V1C21 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.