At the Northern Fort V1C21

At the Northern Fort V1C21: Blizzard

If I had to say, in my previous life I lived in a region with a warmer climate. Snow was something that would happen once or twice a winter, fluttering down from the sky, and melting the instant it touched the ground. That is how I thought it was.

That is why, when I saw videos of areas of heavy snowfall on the news, while I thought it looked terrible to deal with, I was also jealous. That was particularly so when I was a child. If there was that much snow, then I’d be able to make as many igloos and snow slides as I wanted. ‘How nice’, I’d think to myself.

But now I could say this. Having more snow than you needed piling up wasn’t something good. After the blizzard continued for three days straight, there wasn’t any time to be building igloos. 

What was with these ferocious winds? What was with all this snow falling as though the clouds had gone insane?

There weren’t any harsh blizzards like this on top of the mountain.

On the first day, I was prohibited from playing outside due to the terrible weather, so I carefreely watched it from inside the One-Eyed Knight’s room in the barracks. While this blizzard was a bit bad, it wasn’t uncommon for this region, is what I thought.

And like me, the One-Eyed Knight and the other knights in the fort also had a calm attitude. ‘It’ll probably be piled up like crazy by tomorrow morning, so we’ll have to shovel it again’, they laughed. 

On the second day, when I woke up, the strong winds pasted snow onto the window, making it impossible to see the outside from inside the room. Without the light shining in from the window, the inside of the room was dark like it was nighttime, so for a moment I didn’t realize that it was morning. On top of that, the snow that was stuck to the window had hardened as it froze, so the window couldn’t be opened.

I tried checking how things were outside with the One-Eyed Knight, but the intensity of the blizzard was unchanged from yesterday. This was the largest snowfall this winter. The sky was covered in heavy clouds, and while it wasn’t as dark as in the room, it was pretty gloomy.

I felt pretty excited from seeing the highly piled snow, but the One-Eyed Knight grimaced at the sight.

And then, on that day as well, the violent wind and snow didn’t show any signs of waning. All the knights could do was continue to shovel snow in the blizzard, and even I started to feel that there was something peculiar about this weather.

Even on the mountaintop, there were times when blizzards would last for days, but there were times when it would stop, and times when it would weaken. However, since yesterday the falling snow, together with the roaring winds, didn’t show any signs of stopping, not even temporarily. It was as if the sky itself was angry. It did not take any time to breathe, and continued its onslaught nonstop. What violent weather.

And as another evening came with the blizzard continuing, I felt for the first time ever that snow was ‘scary’. Just how much more snow would pile up as we slept? Still filled with apprehension, I closed my eyes as the One-Eyed Knight put me to bed, but with the rattling of the window from the wind, I couldn’t fall asleep.

On the third day, the window was covered by snow, as before. However, it wasn’t just the snow blown onto the window by the wind anymore. So much snow had accumulated, that it completely buried the entire window of the first floor of the building. Though perhaps since this was a region that naturally had a lot of snowfall, the window wasn’t designed to be very big, perhaps foreseeing such a situation. On top of that, the window frame had thicker pieces of lumber than usual supporting the glass, decreasing the concerns that the glass might shatter. The window did have a storm shutter, but because the window had already become unopenable since yesterday, he wasn’t able to lower it. 

And outside, the blizzard did not cease.

There was a bit of an uproar inside the fort from the morning, with topics of, “The snow’s pretty bad~” going around the dining hall. Most of the knights of the fort were from other regions of the country, so it seemed that this was their first time seeing such a large snowfall. They jokingly said things like, “Hopefully the fort isn’t buried”, but this fort is fairly tall, so that probably won’t happen…….at least, that is what I want to believe.

The uncle that serves as the head chef of the dining hall seems to be a local, and he said that every few years, there are years where a bunch of snow falls at once, but even then having this much fall was unusual. Above all else, the fact that the blizzard didn’t let up even once was making everyone anxious. 

As a snow spirit myself, I did at least try shouting and sending thoughts of, [Stop, snow!], at the sky a number of times, but it was embarrassingly ineffective at doing anything at all. The devastating blizzard completely ignored me.

I unconsciously doubted my own existence. I really am a snow spirit, right? I am, RIGHT?

Throughout the morning, the knights spent their time shovelling snow as usual. Snow immediately began accumulating on the shovelled paths again, but even so they had to continue shovelling it.

Removing the heavy snow required physical strength, so the knights would enter the building in turns to take a break. They’d dry their wet gloves and pants by the fireplace, and stay there to warm their hands and feet, numbed from the cold. I stayed in the lounge the entire time, watching them warm themselves.

I’m sorry for not being able to stop a single blizzard, even though I’m a snow spirit. While holding such feelings of remorse, I walked around the group of tired knights, awarding them for their snow-removing services. While I say I’m ‘rewarding’ them, I was just letting them touch my soft fur as much as they wanted.

Incidentally, the One-Eyed Knight and Branch Captain-san have gone to nearby towns, and weren’t currently in the fort. They’ve apparently gone to go help the townspeople shovel the roads and remove snow off the rooftops of houses.

With this much snowfall, you have to remove snow from the rooftops, or else older houses won’t hold up. Even this fortress, which is built quite sturdily, sometimes makes disturbing creaking noises under the pressure of the snow. 

But, will they really be okay in such a blizzard? Even if they fall off their horses by accident, with the snow being piled so stupidly high, there probably won’t be any major injuries though. 

I waited while worrying, and around noon the knights that had gone to town returned. I was also carried by Tina-san and brought to the entrance to go see everyone that came back. Due to the fiercely blowing snow, visibility was poor, and from afar you couldn’t tell who was who. 

Tina-san was properly wearing protective gear against the cold, but the moment she pushed open the heavy door to go outside, she ducked her head from the cold wind, and hugged me tightly. Though since I’m a snow spirit, I don’t think that hugging me as a body warmer will work as it does with a normal animal……

“Welcome back! How was the town?”

The blizzard was as bad as always, so in order not to have her voice drowned out by the wind, Tina-san spoke in a loud voice. The closest knight answered her query. 

“One of the older huts collapsed, but there wasn’t as much damage as expected. The townsfolk are way more accustomed to this heavy snowfall than we are. They have plenty of food reserves, and have also prepared lots of firewood too. They should still be fine even if the blizzard continues for a bit more.”

Hearing him say that with a joking smile, Tina-san heaved a relieved sigh. Her arms loosened a little, so I took the opportunity to jump to the ground.

I ran straight for the building’s entrance, where the One-Eyed Knight and his group were, via the path that had snow cleared from it……or that was my plan, but instead I was blown to the side by the strong winds, causing me to veer diagonally.

“Ah, Mil-chan! It’s blizzarding outside, so you can’t do that.”

I looked back at Tina-san, who shouted behind me, and gave a bark to say I’d be okay. When I arrived, the One-Eyed Knight dismounted his horse, took off his glove and pet my head.

Incidentally, the horses that the knights had brought with them were tied to a sled that was piled high with shovels and other tools for snow removal to carry them over the snow…….I kinda wanna try riding that sled.

“Have you been a good girl at home?”

I was! Of course!

Yelping in response, I ran round and round on the spot at a high speed. Seeing the One-Eyed Knight and his group return safely from town in this blizzard made my spirits rise in a bit of a weird direction. 

By the time I had regained my calm a few seconds later, the surrounding people were all laughing. 

It’s fine, it’s fine. I’m just a useless fox that can’t help with removing the snow after all. If it lifts everyone’s spirits, then I don’t mind being the butt of the joke. No matter how many times I have to do it.

However, this really is a horrible blizzard. The wind wasn’t like blades that sliced at the air, but instead had the force of a mass of lead smashing against us. It was as though it was trying to destroy everything equally – the humans, the buildings, the trees, and everything that existed aboveground.

After only being outside for a mere five minutes, plenty of snow had already accumulated on my body. It felt as though you’d be swallowed by the snow if you stayed still for even a moment. 

I hurriedly shook my body to get rid of all the snow clinging to my fur. 

“You guys go on break, and call out Squads 5 and 8 to take over.”

Branch Captain-san was sneaking sidelong glances at me, concerned, but he still maintained a stern expression while giving out orders to the other knights.

“Are you gonna go out immediately? Branch Captain and Vice Captain really should take a short break too……”

“If we take it too easy, then it’ll be dark by the time we come back. We’ll be fine, so hurry up and call the other squads.”

After Branch Captain-san gave the command, the young knight responded with a, “Yes!”, and hurriedly ran inside the building.

Even though they just came back, Branch Captain-san and the One-Eyed Knight are gonna go off again? I restlessly paced around the One-Eyed Knight’s feet. The blizzard’s getting pretty bad, so just take it easy in the fort for the rest of today, ‘kay? I tried pulling at his bootlaces to invite him with me, but the One-Eyed Knight just laughed while lightly remonstrating me.

And, as I was doing that, the knights from Squads 5 and 8 arrived, dressed in cold-resistant clothing. They brought horses ladened with snow removal tools while running this way. Since Branch Captain-san and the One-Eyed Knight were waiting, they made their preparations in a hurry.

“Are we going back to the town to continue removing the snow?”

Among the arriving knights was Kix, who called out to Branch Captain-san in the same cheerful manner as always. If he’s like that, then I wonder if he’d be willing to become Branch Captain-san’s friend?

Branch Captain-san started to explain in an indifferent manner.

“The snow removal for the town is more or less done. Now we’ll be heading to the bottom of Snowlea Mountain, where the spirit lives.”

Hearing the words ‘spirit’ and ‘Snowlea’, my ears perked up.

“Ehh, in this blizzard? While Snowlea Mountain is fairly close from here, that’s a pretty suicidal act. To begin with, the roads leading to the mountain are buried in the snow, aren’t th-……”

“If they’re buried then we just have to dig them up. We’ll be shovelling the snow while proceeding there.”

“Seriously?!”

Kix flinched back at Branch Captain-san’s simply spoken response.

“But what do you plan on doing when you get to the base of Snowlea?”

“We’ll give some offerings at the altar there and have the spirit stop the blizzard.”

Saying that, Branch Captain-san glanced back as he remained sitting on the horse. Behind him were a number of cork-stoppered bottles, and from the scent I could tell that they were filled with alcohol. Not only that, but the alcohol content seemed pretty high. When I tried sniffing it close by, it felt like I’d get drunk just from the smell.

Branch Captain-san moved his gaze back before continuing.

“The elderlies at town were kicking up a fuss, saying that it was the [Spirit’s Anger]. They said, [This blizzard was unmistakably due to her anger, so we must give offerings and beg for forgiveness or else the weather will not return to normal].”

“So that’s why we’re going to the altar……?”

“The elderlies were trying to go bring the offerings themselves, so we had to stop them by promising that we’d bring the offerings to the altar in their stead. Them trying to go themselves would be a suicidal act, like you said. We can’t just let a bunch of elderly people go outside on a blizzarding day like this.”

“Do you also think that this blizzard is due to the spirit, Branch Captain?”

Kix didn’t show any signs of timidity, despite the fact that he was talking to Branch Captain-san, and asked the questions that he wanted to ask. It seemed like he didn’t notice how the surrounding knights were feeling a bit anxious for him. 

However, Branch Captain-san’s mood didn’t worsen from that, and simply continued to calmly answer his questions. The One-Eyed Knight also didn’t interrupt their conversation, and I continued to shake off the snow accumulating on my body while listening to them talk.

“I’m doubtful, but I don’t think we should make light of the locals who have lived here for far longer than we have. And in reality, this weather is abnormal.”

Saying that, he looked up at the stormy, lead-coloured sky. The violent winds and snow continued to blow without stopping for even a single second.

“If this blizzard is due to the spirit, then unless her anger settles, it is possible that it will continue to snow forever.”

The faces of the surrounding knights stiffened at Branch Captain-san’s words. They were probably imagining what would happen if this blizzard continued.

Right now there was plenty of food and firewood, so the knights could still joke around while watching it, but food and supplies will inevitably decrease over time, and if the blizzard doesn’t stop then they can’t replenish them. Shovelling snow is a rather dull, physically demanding task, and until the snow stops, they’ll have to continue shovelling every day, for several hours each day. 

Their bodies will be exhausted from shovelling, and as their rations and firewood diminished over time, it would drive them into a corner mentally. Even if they feel that they couldn’t take it anymore and tried to evacuate, the entire region is covered in snow, so they’d be unable to make any moves. In the end, all they’d be able to do is wait to freeze to death in the coffin that was this fort……

Hm, everyone’s faces are pale. I also shuddered a little from the thought. An eternal blizzard would be quite bad…….after all, it is because they know that spring will definitely come that they are able to endure the cold winters. 

Branch Captain-san quietly surveyed everyone before calmly speaking.

“Before any major harm is done, I want to stop this blizzard. We don’t have the time to laze around in hopes that it’ll stop if we leave it alone. Because if we do that, there is a possibility that it will be too late to act by the time we do. If the blizzard continues as it has been, then it’ll just be even more difficult to get to the altar tomorrow. I want to do what we can while we still have the leeway to do so.”

After saying that much, he continued to further stir his subordinates up. 

“However, it is true that going to meet the spirit in this blizzard would involve plenty of danger. The altar is not that far from here, but in this snow, it is possible for an accident to happen, even on such a short trip. Since we were the ones to make the promise with the townspeople, it is only natural for Grail and I to go, but I will not force you guys to come. I do not mind if those who do not have confidence in their stamina stay at the fort.”

Most of the people at this fort were rough-mannered by nature. There weren’t any knights who would honestly say, “Ah, then I don’t have any confidence, so I’ll stay back~”. 

“If Branch Captain and Vice Captain are going, then we’ll go too!”

“Stamina is the one thing I have confidence in!”

“That’s right, that’s right! So what if there’s a blizzard!”

Even though they had all been pale-faced earlier, now everyone was fired up, roaring, “Uwooohh!”. A group sweltering with excitement that felt as though they could melt the snow with it was created, but all of them were just rolling around in the palm of Branch Captain-san’s hand. 

Both Branch Captain-san and the One-Eyed Knight were smiling a bit while looking at their lovable, simple-minded subordinates. 

“Then, let’s hurry up and set off. I want to return to the fort before it gets dark.”

The One-Eyed Knight, who had been stroking my head, said that and stood up. In response to that, the other knights shouted, “Ohhh!!”, as though they were howling. You’re loud!

“You’ll be housesitting.”

The One-Eyed Knight said kindly while looking down at me. However, I clung to his long legs to avoid being left behind. I absolutely will not let go!

Because you know, if this blizzard is really being caused by the [Spirit’s Wrath] like the townspeople say, then that means this is being done by my mother. 

And if I had to think about what Mother is mad about…….I’m certain that it’s me that she’s mad at……

After returning home for the first time in a month, the child that should’ve been housesitting like a good kid – that is, me – was gone. I can imagine her angry appearance yelling, “Just where did Milfiria run off to!”. She might think that I’m tottering around, playing all over the place. This was extremely bad.

And when I thought of it that way, it made me feel as though each and every flake of falling snow was the crystallization of Mother’s anger. 

Yup, I’m sure that the townspeople and Branch Captain-san, who is respecting their words, are correct. This wasn’t just any blizzard. Until Mother cheers up, I’m sure it will keep on going on and on……an endless blizzard.

If the One-Eyed Knight and everyone are going to see Mother, then naturally I, as the cause of the blizzard, have to go with them.

That is why I desperately cried, and clawed at the One-Eyed Knight’s boots. Take me with you!

“You don’t wanna housesit?”

The corner of the One-Eyed Knight’s lips rose, and he lifted up my body.

Wawa. Um, this way of lifting me up is a bit wild. He didn’t carry me carefully like Tina-san with both hands and gently lift me up as though enveloping me, but instead hooked one arm around my belly and suddenly lifted me up. 

Now that I think of it, when he saved me from the pond he also lifted me up like this. Since the One-Eyed Knight’s hand is big, one hand was enough to provide a sense of stability, but……

“We won’t be bringing that. It’ll just be a burden and get in the way.”

Branch Captain-san looked this way coldly as he fired off that remark.

But my dear bosom friend, I have indeed noticed. He was worried about me, and was saying that I shouldn’t come because it was dangerous. As proof, Branch Captain-san’s eyes as he looked at me appeared extremely troubled. I could feel his inner feelings saying, “I’m sorry……but it’s dangerous……it’s really dangerous outside……”. 

“Of course.”

The One-Eyed Knight nodded while still holding me up with one hand.

“Tina, I’ll leave her to you.”

“Ah, yes!”

Tina-san immediately responded to the One-Eyed Knight’s short call, and ran from the building’s entrance to where we were. It was to take me.

No no no! I’m also gonna go! I’m not just being willful. The cause of this blizzard might be me, so I have to go as well! I have to say sorry for leaving the nest of my own accord and have Mother forgive me!

I flailed my short legs about in resistance, but the stability of the One-Eyed Knight’s large hand was staggering. What’s with this? Even if I struggle, it’s completely pointless. Since he was carrying me by the stomach, my legs were just futilely swinging in the air. How hopeless. 

“I’ll be back soon. When I do, I’ll play with you in the room.”

He tried to console me by saying that, but it’s not that I want to play!

“Mil-chan, shall we house-sit together?”

The attempts at conveying my will were in vain, as my wishes were completely ignored, and the One-Eyed Knight passed my body over to Tina-san’s hands. Tina-san hugged me tightly and I was rendered incapable of chasing after the leaving One-Eyed Knight’s party.

“Let’s go.”

Branch Captain-san gave the order, and the One-Eyed Knight, Kix and the rest got on their horses and set off. All I could do was give a high-pitched howl while seeing their backs disappear into the blizzard.


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>


Translator Comments:

It’s happening!!!! Mama-san!!

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in At the Northern Fort and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to At the Northern Fort V1C21

  1. owo Mikro says:

    Yeess I’m super excited I love this part of the arc

    Like

  2. exqalph03 says:

    — Thanks for the chapter~ ^^.

    Like

  3. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V1C22 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.