At the Northern Fort V2MD1

From the Author:

  • If you’re asking, “Who’s Gilles?”, then please see Chapter 3 of Volume 2 [Branch Captain-san’s Circumstances (1)]. He is Kix’s colleague.
  • Like with Mil’s, this isn’t an actual picture diary, but a ‘mental’ diary.
  • I have used the designs of Hyllis, Sarrell, Daphine, and the bunny rucksack from the printed version as a reference.
  • These are illustrations, so for those who are not good with pictures, please take care.

P.S. The pages will probably be a bit hard to navigate due to the pictures, so I divided the diary into two.


At the Northern Fort V2MD1: Spring 1

Today is the sixth day since Branch Cap, Vice Cap, Kix, and Tina left for the Capital.

Mil’s also accompanying Kix and them due to an errand from Snowlea, so she hasn’t come to the fort.

Our knights have started to show symptoms of a strange illness where they mutter, “Floof, floof……” with blank eyes as they wander around aimlessly searching for Mil, so we really need them to get back soon or things might get bad.

—just as I had such a thought, the outside started to get noisy.

It seems like Mil and everyone have returned.

With this, everyone’s fits should come to an end for the time being.

According to Kix, it seems that it’s been decided that Branch Cap will be staying at the Northern Fort, so that’s a relief.

Sure enough, I absolutely wouldn’t want for Branch Captain Cromwell to no longer be our commanding officer, with Captain Sarrell coming here instead.

-is what I thought, but when I heard Kix’s story, somehow my impression of Captain Sarrell changed a little.

Did he really remember his name?

I started to feel that I wanted to meet Captain Sarrell again, just a little.

Incidentally, the instant Mil returned, she was mobbed by all the knights working overtime and petted all over, making her fur all frazzled, so she got cranky.

I hope that she can accept everyone’s rough love.

The next day, Mil once again came to play at the fort as she usually did.

However, the knights were still having fits of floof-deficiency, which hadn’t yet been satisfied from petting Mil yesterday. Thus, they would suddenly attack Mil, like when she was taking an afternoon nap.

It seems like these kinds of days will continue for a while.

The next day too, as expected……

Wary of the knights’ sudden attacks, Mil started to climb onto Vice Cap’s shoulder when she wanted to safely take an afternoon nap.

Well, if she stays there then she shouldn’t be attacked by anyone.

When I stroked Mil’s back, a bunch of fur came out even though I didn’t use much strength.

I panicked, thinking that she had some kind of illness, and Tina told me that it was her shedding season. Apparently her winter fur seemed to be coming out endlessly even after being brushed.

Ahh, that scared me……

According to Kix, Mil received a necklace as a present from Kugalg while they were travelling together.

Not only that, but it was one with a red stone pendant. Damn, that’s pretty good for a kid.

But unfortunately for you, Kugalg, choosing a necklace wasn’t the best plan.

Mil’s chest fur was too dense, so even if she wears a necklace, you can’t see it at all.

About the necklace, it seems that Kugalg also becomes anxious as to whether or not Mil was properly wearing it, so sometimes he checks inside her fur.

You’ve got it hard too, huh.

Vice Cap and everyone suddenly went to the forest to cut down a tree and carry it back. When I asked what they were planning on using it for, it seems they were making a toy for Mil.

Apparently after using a wooden ring toy that the dog the Queen was keeping had, Mil also wanted one.

These people had such momentum that, forget a meagre toy, they’d be willing to build a whole detached house for Mil’s sake.

What’re we supposed to do with all these? Since Mil had a rare instance of begging for something, everyone made this much.

She doesn’t need these many.

When Mil gets surprised, her fur stands on end like a cat, and her tail also explodes.

I was wondering what surprised her this time and saw a mushroom doll sitting on its lonesome on the sofa in the lounge. 

The culprit was Tina. Even though Kix told her to throw it away.

During their journey, the Vice Cap protected Mil when she was being attacked by the wind spirit and got injured.

Although that injury seems to have been completely healed by her father without leaving any marks behind, Mil was still worried, so she ended up sticking too close to Vice Cap. 

She was the closest to Vice Cap to begin with, yet when they returned she was even closer than before.

But sometimes, she’ll go off running to the Branch Captain’s side as though she remembered something. Perhaps after the talks of Branch Captain leaving the Northern Fort, Mil started to have some anxiety about him suddenly leaving while she wasn’t looking. 

I wonder if I should lie to Mil and say I’m planning on quitting as a knight too.

The next day when I executed my plan to lie, Mil rushed back to her nest and then brought back an antler that she treasured.

“I’ll give you this, so don’t say you’ll quit”, she said, but I don’t at all want an antler. I wouldn’t be lured in by something like that.

But I was still happy that Mil was worried about me. Just as I was about to receive it gratefully though, Kix exposed my lie.

Mil got mad and took back her antler.

I saw Kix and Tina chatting happily together, so I had Mil barge in to destroy the atmosphere.

No, it’s not like those two have that kind of relationship, and I know that they only think of each other as comrades, but Tina’s the one precious girl at this fort. On top of that, I think that she’s actually pretty cute so…….I won’t let only Kix have fun memories with her!

Even though Mil doesn’t resist at all no matter where the Vice Cap touches her, Mil generally rejects the touch of other people.

It seems like at first she was wary of Kix for being so persistent.

Lately, it seems like I’ve been rubbing her paw pads too much, so she’s been on guard every time I extend a hand towards her.

But you’re too naive Mil.

With how you guard against me, I can feel the squishiness of your paw pads, which just makes me happy.


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>


Translator Comments:

Sorry for the late release again. I had forgotten which photo editor I used last time to edit the illustrations the author made. Luckily, I rediscovered the old one I used to use when I used to do the typesetting for my manga translations and they’ve even given it an upgrade. Unfortunately, it seems like they’ve nerfed some of the good features I used to use too…well, you win some, you lose some. Cause of that, I had to outline the text myself for some of the panels. So if the outlines look a little off, it’s cause I had to hand-draw them…

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in At the Northern Fort and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to At the Northern Fort V2MD1

  1. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V2C45 | Kiriko Translations

  2. fabtater says:

    thanks for the chapter! i wish i could tell the author not to worry about the art because it’s not bad at all and i genuinely think it’s nice and cute

    Like

  3. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V2MD2 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.