At the Northern Fort V4C37

At the Northern Fort V4C37: Confession of Love

After hearing Lunabella call herself dark and weak, Mother said angrily,

 

“Geez. Being told ‘I am weak’ by you of all people just sounds like sarcasm.”

“Eh?”

 

Lunabella looked at Mother with bewilderment. 

Mother looked back at Lunabella and spoke frankly.

 

“Did you not just use your power to put us all to sleep? You are strong.”

 

I also agreed with that, and said this with my tail wagging.

 

“That’s right. Even though my Mother and Father, and the knights of the fort are so strong, Lunabella managed to put them all to sleep. You also put San Narshish asleep, and Father’s still sleeping soundly even now.”

 

I glanced at Father’s soundly sleeping form as I said that. He was sleeping pretty comfortably despite his noisy surroundings. 

 

“Oh, is that what happened? That explains the mystery of why Waterust is sleeping.”

 

Daphine-san finally seemed to realise. 

And then, San Narcissus, who had been holding his head in his hands after hearing Lunabella’s explanation, let out a long sigh before raising his head and saying this.

 

“I thought I had understood Lunabella’s anxious temperament, but to think she had been worrying about such matters.”

“Have you given up on me……?”

 

In order to comfort Lunabella, who asked that uneasily, San Narcissus smiled back at her.

 

“I’d never give up on you. Sorry for not realising this sooner.”

“No, it’s not……”

 

There, San Narcissus specially told Lunabella this.

 

“Even if a light spirit that resembles Lunabella were born, I would never be disappointed. Even if the child is introverted and pessimistic like you, that would just make me find the child even more lovely. Newborn spirits are usually only born with attributes from one of their parents, so it would make me happy to see parts of you in the child. Rather than a successor, I really just want the feeling of having a child between the two of us.”

 

San Narcissus approached Lunabella and lifted up the black veil that had been hiding her face all this time.

 

“San Narcissus……”

 

Like when she was in her feline form, Lunabella’s eyes were a beautiful blackish purple. Her skin was white, and her facial features were like those of a beautiful doll.

San Narcissus locked eyes with Lunabella and spoke.

 

“It is not that I want a successor for myself. I just want a child with you. Because I’ve heard that children are the fruits of love.”

 

Upon hearing San Narcissus’ words, Tina-san’s eyes glittered as she watched from the sidelines, murmuring, “How wonderful….”. San Narcissus and Lunabella had created a lovely atmosphere between them, as if they were reproducing a love drama. It truly made the hearts of those watching throb. I get you~

San Narcissus did not desire a successor, but instead desired a child with Lunabella.

 

[Could it be that San Narcissus is only with me because he wants a successor?]

 

-Lunabella seemed to have such misgivings, but those were, as expected, just a misunderstanding.

 

“San Narshish is also worried about whether Lunabella loves him too. Maybe that’s why he wants to have a child as a fruit of your love?”

 

I turned a lukewarm smile towards San Narcissus as I said that. Despite the fact that San Narcissus was so self-confident in all other matters, he also worried a little bit about whether Lunabella truly loved him. When you thought about him that way, he was a little cute.

San Narcissus rubbed my head roughly in an attempt to hide his embarrassment and responded with a flushed face. 

 

“Yeah, but what’s wrong with that! Lunabella doesn’t show her feelings on the surface……no, now that I think about it, I also might not have verbalised my feelings to her either. I always went to go see her every day, so I just thought that she’d understand my feelings without me saying anything.”

“Because neither of you communicated it directly, you both felt some anxiety over it.”

 

Daphine-san started fixing my head fur that San Narcissus had messed up as I continued.

 

“But if San Narshish really just wanted Lunabella’s child, then why did you kidnap human children and try to make Kugalg and me your own children? Other people’s children wouldn’t be the fruit of San Narishish and Lunabella’s love.”

“Because I felt insecure about that too.”

 

San Narcissus held Lunabella’s hand as he looked back at me and spoke. He really was flirting around with her in such a natural manner, holding her hand like that.

 

“I felt like, if we continued like this without having any children, one day Lunabella might leave me in order to find a spirit whose attributes matched better with her. That’s why I was fine even if the child wasn’t blood related – I just wanted something to connect me with Lunabella.”

“So it was like that.”

 

I nodded understandingly, and Lunabella muttered, “San Narcissus…” as she teared up.

San Narcissus held Lunabella’s hands as he faced her, and then proceeded to confess his love for her under the watch of Mother, Kugalg, Daphine-san, and all the knights of the fort. 

 

“Lunabella. I love everything about you – including all the parts you think of as flaws. And you have plenty of virtues. Your prudent way of thinking, how humble and kind you are, your beautiful black hair and eyes……”

 

I wasn’t sure if it was Kix or Gilles, but one of the knights muttered, “The heck are you showing us”. On the other hand, Tina-san, Rekka-san, and I were hanging on the edge of our seats as we watched over the two with lukewarm gazes. 

 

While Lunabella seemed embarrassed, she continued to look straight at San Narcissus with her veil still flipped on her head. 

And San Narcissus was making an expression that couldn’t be any more affectionate. 

 

“You are like the darkness of night, enveloping everything and healing all. I feel safe at your side. —I love you, Lunabella.”

“I also like you, San Narcissus. I love you.”

 

Lunabella immediately replied. San Narcissus delightedly continued.

 

“If this can dispel your worries, then we might just be able to have a child between us. But I am fine even if we never have a child in our lives. As long as I know that you love me, then I will never feel uneasy, even if there is no child. I am happy with it just being the two of us.”

“Yes, I feel the same. I no longer feel anxious, but I no longer mind if we cannot have a child. If we can’t, then I am fine with the two of us being together forever.”

 

Though the two of them were saying that, I’m sure that Lunabella would quickly get pregnant. I just had that kind of feeling.

However, when I glanced around at the knights, all of them – with an exception for Tina-san and Rekka-san – had their brows furrowed, looking as though they had just been force fed a pile of sugar. This atmosphere really is sweet after all…….


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in At the Northern Fort and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to At the Northern Fort V4C37

  1. Guest says:

    Thank you for translating~

    Like

  2. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V4C38 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.