At the Northern Fort V4C38

At the Northern Fort V4C38: Lord Grandpa

San Narcissus and Lunabella had confirmed their mutual feelings, and Mother’s anger had completely settled. The ‘strange incidents’ of children being taken away and promptly returned would no longer occur. With this, the case was closed.

“Well, I’ll be heading back now.”

Daphine-san handed me over to Mother and combed back her wavy hair as she spoke.

“I’m gonna head back to Father’s side too.”

Kugalg also said as he came to give me a parting greeting—by rubbing his cheek against my own—but seeing as I was being held by Mother, he gave up and headed back with a slightly disappointed look.

“See you tomorrow, Milfee.”

“See you later. I wonder which spirit Milfiria will become friends with next.”

Daphine-san said as she waved her hand in farewell before disappearing as though her body had melted into the earth.

After the two spirits had returned home, Branch Captain-san murmured to himself.

“……now then, we’ll have to send a messenger to the Capital.”

He had to report this recent series of events to the King, Commander-san, as well as Sharon’s parents – His Highness Aske and his wife – who were all in the Capital. 

None of them knew that the true culprit of the ‘strange incidents’ was actually San Narcissus, and that the darkness fairy following Sharon around was not there to do anything bad.

They undoubtedly still suspected that the bad ‘Spirit of Darkness’ was involved in these incidents. 

(Now that I think of it, Grandpa Lord was also still under suspicion.)

I thought of the kind-looking Grandpa Lord. He had various suspicions cast upon him. It was thought that, even if he wasn’t the perpetrator of Sharon’s overnight kidnapping, he was possibly involved with the Spirit of Darkness, or had actually collaborated with his retainers and servants to kidnap her, or that he had leaked information about Sharon to the true culprit. 

“San Narshish! Let’s go to the Capital!”

As I thought that, I called out to San Narcissus. It’d be pitiful if the suspicions against Grandpa Lord weren’t properly cleared up. 

“The Capital? Aridora’s? To do what?”

San Narcissus said that as he flirted with Lunabella, touching her hair and hands. Hold back a bit, would you!

I explained how one of the children that San Narcissus had spirited away was the daughter of the King’s brother, and how abducting that child—Sharon, had led to the innocent Lord Grandpa to be placed under suspicion.

“That’s why, you have to properly explain things to His Highness Aske personally.”

“……hmmm. Well, it was because of something I did, so it can’t be helped.”

Though he seemed to find it slightly bothersome, San Narcissus agreed. If it had been San Narcissus from before all this, he probably would have said something like, “Why do I have to go that far for some human?”. Right now, he was reflecting upon his actions, and more importantly, he was in a good mood because he managed to communicate his mutual feelings with Lunabella. That’s why if it was now, he’d probably be more responsive to my requests, to some extent.

“If that is the case, then I shall use the transfer technique. I am the only one amongst us capable of flying to the Capital of Aridora.”

Mother proposed. I couldn’t fly with the castle or any of the royalty as my goal, while San Narcissus and Lunabella probably didn’t know where the Capital was, so we could only rely on Mother.

And then, Branch Captain-san also asked Mother this.

“If you can fly with humans as well, then could you please bring me with you? I am sure that if a group of spirits suddenly appeared, His Royal Highness and His Highness Aske would be quite surprised.”

Branch Captain-san seemed uneasy about having Mother, me, San Narcissus, and Lunabella going to the Capital alone. Well, between the four of us, there’d be an overwhelming lack of explanation. 

“I don’t mind.”

On that note, the five of us said, “We’ll be back soon” to the One-Eyed Knight and the rest of the knights as we flew to the castle. 

At the castle, we arrived by the sides of Sharon and His HIghness Aske, who had been being accompanied by Mother until her sudden visit home. Thus, we had them call the King to the room, and I introduced San Narcissus and Lunabella.

“The Light Spirit and the Darkness Spirit……”
“The child of the Snow Spirit truly is good at making new friends. She has become friends with various spirits, one after the other. I almost want to hire her as a diplomat.”

His Highness Aske said, looking at San Narcissus and Lunabella with a surprised expression, while the King looked at me and laughed.

On the other hand, Sharon had reached the peak of excitement. 

“These are the two people that I met, Father! They look even more beautiful upon seeing them again! As expected, they were spirits! The Darkness Spirit-sama even has her veil raised, and when she stands next to the beautiful Snow Spirit-sama, the sight is so beautiful I could just die!”

“Come now, Sharon. Don’t say such thoughtless things.”

His Highness Aske lightly rebuked the giddy Sharon. However, I felt like Sharon’s reaction couldn’t be helped – her ‘idols’ had just appeared in front of her after all.

Amidst Sharon’s continued excitement, Branch Captain-san explained all the particulars of the strange incidents, informing them that San Narcissus was the true culprit. He also added that San Narcissus would no longer be taking any children away. 

And then, San Narcissus apologised while still holding Lunabella’s waist. At least take your hands off of Lunabella when you’re apologising!

“Sorry for taking away your precious daughter. Forgive me.”

Standing by San Narcissus’ feet, I began to scratch at his pants.

“What is it, Milfiria?”

“Hug me.”

Then, after having San Narcissus hug me up, I began to whisper into his ear.

“Properly explain that Gwandpa Lord is innocent.”

“Fine, fine.”

He nodded and then continued.

“That Lord whom you’re doubting is innocent. Everything was done by me alone. The mansion’s guards likely did not have any insufficiencies or oversights. It was because it was a spirit like myself—I, who is the strongest of all spirits, was the culprit, so no matter who had been on guard that night, it would have been futile. That is why, you mustn’t blame that Lord. No matter who it was, they would not have been able to find or stop me.”

“I understand.”

His Highness Aske replied and then turned to the King to say.

“I truly wronged the Count, even though I should have known that he was not that kind of person. I must send a letter of apology as soon as possible.”

“Yes, let us do so. It was an incident involving your child. I’m sure the Count will understand and forgive you for it.”

When you looked carefully around Sharon’s surroundings, there was a black darkness fairy in her shadow, and a golden light fairy floating in the bright, sunlit areas. 

Speaking of Sharon, I wondered whether she even realised that she had received the protection of not only the Spirit of Darkness, but the Spirit of Light as well? While I figured I should tell her, I felt like she’d get so excited that she wouldn’t be able to sleep all night, so I decided against it. 

After clearing Grandpa Lord’s name, the five of us flew directly to Grandpa Lord’s mansion. Mother and San Narcissus seemed to find it bothersome, but I wanted to tell Grandpa Lord that the suspicions against him had been cleared as soon as possible. 

Though Grandpa Lord seemed surprised at our appearance, after hearing the sequence of events from Branch Captain-san, he thanked me.

“Thank you so much, child of the Snow Spirit. I am truly grateful.”

Grandpa Lord was a noble and an elderly man. Despite that, he kneeled down to meet me at eye level as I sat on the ground.

“You went out of your way to bring the Light Spirit-sama to the castle for my sake. It is very kind of you to have worried so for an old man like myself.”

And then, Grandpa Lord smiled and continued.

“Actually, as the ruling lord of this region, I often visit the altar on Snowlea Mountain to make offerings to Snow Spirit-sama. What do you like, Child of Snow? Whether it be high-class sweets, clothes, or toys, I can offer up anything that you might desire.”

“Umm, then sweets……”

While I said that with a reserved manner, I did not hold back. By all means, please give me delicious sweets.

As I looked forward to the upgrade in offerings, we returned to the fort.

When we arrived at the fort, San Narcissus and Lunabella also decided to return to their domiciles. 

“See you later, Milfiria. You are a strange spirit, but you are welcome to come play at Lunabella or my home any time.”

San Narcissus said in his haughty way as usual. 

“I’ve finally become acquainted with everyone at the fort, so I will come by to play again……this is just a hindrance now, so I will take it off.”

Lunabella took the veil off of her head and exposed a beautiful, gentle smile.

……huh? Now that I think about it, is Father still sleeping!?


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in At the Northern Fort and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to At the Northern Fort V4C38

  1. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V4C39 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.