At the Northern Fort V4MD1

At the Northern Fort V4MD1: Summer 1

It was relatively cool inside the stone fort, but in the middle of summer there were still some times where I felt it was too hot. 

But even if I don’t say it, the One-Eyed Knight immediately notices as soon as I start to think, “It’s a bit hot”. He then brings me to the cool ice room, or gets a towel dampened with cold water for me.

When I asked him how he could tell I was starting to get hot, he said that I start to pant with my tongue stuck out, so he was easily able to tell at sight. 

Is it that easy to tell?

I ate the strawberry jam that I made together with Father.

I put the jam on scones and then threw them into Father’s mouth.

Father seems to like the jam. In the end, he ate the whole bottle himself.

Lunabella took the veil off her head, and instead began to wear a hair ornament of a golden rose that San Narcissus seemed to have given her.

A sparkly gold rose……San Narcissus’ tastes are so bad……no no, it suits Lunabella’s gothic-style dress, and above all else, she seems happy so it’s fine.

When I went out on a walk in a good mood, Rekka-san called me to a stop. 

I went to her, wondering what she wanted, but it turned out that there were three ladybugs stuck to my tail. No way~. I wonder if they got stuck there while I was passing through some tall grass.

The ladybugs themselves also probably wanted to run away, but my tail was so fluffy, they couldn’t escape.

When summer comes around, the inside of my tail fluff sometimes causes disasters for small bugs. 

When it gets hot, it’s nice to dig a hole in the shade and lay my tummy against it.

The bottom of the hole tends to be nice and cool. And rather than cooling my head or feet, cooling my tummy makes my body temperature go down quicker, so it feels nicer.

But you gotta be careful. When your paws and belly get dirty, the One-Eyed Knight will wash you in the bath!

I got washed……

Tina-san, this really isn’t Father.

The more I look at it, the less it looks like Father.

When I brought the plushie of Father back to the nest, and left it lying around the cavern, Mother’s fur stood on end from the sight of the fluorescent pink plushie under the dim lighting and she went, “What in tarnations is this!?” 

So that the sunlight wouldn’t directly hit me when I watched the knights train, the One-Eyed Knight and the others made a small shed for me. The box part was reused from a box meant to hold wine bottles. Wood posts were attached to the box, and a suitable cloth was draped across the posts, but Branch Captain-san secretly switched the cloth with a cute frilly one instead. 

Despite the fact that the bottom part was an empty wine box, the top part looked like a princess bed. It was really mismatched.

Today is particularly hot. The heat is stealing away all of my energy.

I don’t want to move out of this shade, and I don’t want to do anything anymore.

A cicada fell in front of me, so I couldn’t move forward. Is that thing dead or alive?

But it’s probably dead. It’s flipped over and there aren’t any signs of movement after all…….

Alright, I’ll summon some courage and check it out.

GYAHHH! IT WAS STILL ALIVE!

IT’S COMING TOWARDS ME DESPITE STILL BEING TURNED OVER!

After that, Kix taught me that ‘if the legs are closed, it’s dead. If they’re open, then they’re alive’. 

It seems like I’ll be able to tell if they’re alive by looking at their legs. Hearing such useful information from Kix made me see him in a bit of a different light.


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>


Translator Comments:

The end of another volume means another mental diary with cute pictures~ I always love the illustrations the author draws, but editing them is a hurdle to overcome…hope they turned out alright, cause I never remember the exact fonts I used compared to previous diaries because of the time it takes to get through a volume. There’s definitely a few I fudged up in cleaning, but I hope you enjoy them regardless. Please feel free to check out the original page on ncode-syosetsu if you wanna see the original images! As always, Mil is adorable~

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in At the Northern Fort and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to At the Northern Fort V4MD1

  1. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V4MD2 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.