At the Northern Fort V4MD2

At the Northern Fort V4MD2: Summer 2

It’s hard for humans to notice because they wear shoes, but in the summer, the ground gets pretty hot.

When the stone paving of the fort is bathed in the sunlight, I have to be careful when walking or else my paw pads will make me go, “Ouch, hot hot hot!” from the heat.

In order to avoid getting my paw pads burnt, Tina-san knit me some socks. Apparently she first tried knitting them using a yarn with a cute colour, but she failed so many times that in the end she could only make them using her leftover yarn. Thus, she ended up making socks with a rather dull colour. 

To begin with, why did she even buy yarn of this colour……?

On top of that, the mysterious yarn had threads popping out here and there.

But, the size was just right! Thank you for remaking it for me so many times, Tina-san.

It’s quite pleasant to be able to walk on the ground without getting my feet burnt.

Perhaps they were using it to carry vegetables. There was a round basket right by the food storage, but before I knew it, Kugalg had balled himself up inside of it.

I wondered whether or not it was hot, but apparently the basket was woven in a way that the air would pass through it, so it was quite comfortable. In addition, the way the basket enveloped his body gave him a sense of security. Cats really do like narrow spaces.

Let’s call this basket the Kugalg cradle.

Kugalg kept staying in the basket, so I started to wonder if it really was that comfortable and tried going into the basket next to him.

But then Kugalg said he wanted to sleep together and moved into my basket, so now it’s cramped. It’s not comfy at all.

Branch Captain-san caught sight of the two of us harmoniously lying the basket together and was watching us as though he was looking at some kind of precious treasure but…please help …….I’m about to be crushed by Kugalg.

Kugalg liked the basket so much that Branch Captain-san gave it to him as a present. After bringing it back to his nest, Kugalg apparently used it every day.

When he saw that, Hilg-papa also wanted a basket, so in the end Branch Captain-san had to custom-order a large basket for him.

At the mountain where Kugalg and his Father live, the Father and son are both enjoying themselves like cats in a pot – or rather, panthers in a basket. 

Kix tried using a cattail to tease me.

But I’m not a cat, and more importantly, it’s so hot I don’t wanna move.

Because I wouldn’t play with him, Kix then tried using the cattail on Lunabella, who came by to play.

Even if she’s a cat, Lunabella is an adult. She won’t play with a cattail.

And look, she doesn’t even know what a cattail is. She’s scared stiff and asking, “W-What in the world i-is that?”. 

-or so I thought. In the end, Lunabella was completely engrossed in the cattail.

Apparently when it starts shaking in front of her, it catches her eye and makes her want to catch it.

San Narcissus took several cattails and tried to go home with them. He probably thought that if he had them, then Lunabella would come to him.

However, Lunabella said, “Even if you don’t have those, I will stay by your side” and made San Narcissus happy.

These two really start to flirt around every time they get the chance to.

Speaking of an established custom, there’s swimming in Father’s lake. 

However, Father was worried that I’d drown, so he made a ball of water that was just big enough to fit my body, made it float and allowed me to swim there.

But Father, no matter how much I swim in here, I don’t move, so it’s not very fun.

I think that the inside of the blueberries bought at Japanese supermarkets was white, but in this world—or rather, in this country, the inside of the blueberries you can pick here are a bright blue. 

So when you eat them, your mouth and fingers also become bright blue.

When we had blueberries as a snack at our all-girl’s party, Rekka-san and Tina-san laughed at how their mouths turned blue.

The two are so heartwarmingly cute. Fufufu.

In the end, I was the one whose mouth grew the dirtiest from the blueberries, so Tina-san and Rekka-san made me take a bath…….

Just recently, the One-Eyed Knight made me bathe because I got dirty from digging holes, so lately I’ve been getting washed pretty often.

I found a bunch of blueberries growing at the base of Snowlea Mountain, so I filled up my tummy before going to the fort, but I was immediately found out by the One-Eyed Knight.

This time I had intended on eating carefully so that my mouth wouldn’t get dirty, so was it really that bad?

I gave my thanks to Kugalg for acting so gentlemanly during the summer. 

“Thanks for being so kind during the summer, Kugalg.”

I said it with a smile, but for some reason, the fire on Kugalg’s tail roared to life and began burning more intensely. Is he embarrassed?


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in At the Northern Fort and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to At the Northern Fort V4MD2

  1. Pingback: At the Northern Fort V5C1 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.