CSWH Chapter 127

CSWH Chapter 127: Son’s Resolve

“Over here.”

Leaving Father and Romel-dono behind, I took Rui-dono and brought him to the office.

……and then, three days passed.

Neither Rui-dono nor I left the office.

In addition to Rui-dono and I, there were two guards inside the room.

With the four of us, we used Rui-dono’s information as a basis to draft up a plan on how to move in the future.

At times there’d be maids coming in and out to bring us meals, but other than that, the four of us spent the entire time confined inside the room.

And then, around the time that the third day was about to end……

Rui-dono and I, as well as those of the Guard Corps, returned to Father’s room.

If I may say so myself, I looked very thin and gaunt……I laughed to myself after seeing my appearance reflected in the window.

When looking next to me, Rui-dono and the two Guard Corps members were in a similarly emaciated state.

“……did you manage to draft up a good sketch?”

“Yes. Here is the tactical plan for this operation, Father. Please read it once. Tell me if you have any further questions.”

“Got it……good work, everyone. Sorry for making Rui-dono accompany us for so long. Rest up at our house today and you can go back tomorrow.”

“No, it’s fine. It’s pretty close, so I’ll head back…….I apologize for being unable to give much of a greeting, but I will excuse myself here.”

Rui-dono declined Father’s offer and then left the room.

Both Father and I knew that Rui was burdened with plenty of work as Romel-dono’s aid, so we did not stop him and simply saw him off.

“I wonder if he is planning on continuing his work after he returns.”

As he watched the carriage go into the distance from the window, Father absentmindedly murmured.

“That is likely.”

Standing next to Father as I similarly saw him off, I responded to Father’s murmur.

“……he truly is working hard. I should also learn from him…….though to begin with, with all the ailments that have started to afflict my body, I can’t quite emulate him.”

“Watching him is quite educational for me too.”

While saying that, I walked away from the window and sat down on the sofa meant for receiving guests.

“Say, Parx.”

“Yes?”

“……both Romel and Rui-dono said all that but……it is likely that I will be tried for this matter.”

“As the next Marquis, it will only be natural for me to have to undergo the same trial.”

“No, but Parx is……”

“I believe it is rather doubtful that I would be saved just by staying here though.”

As Father hesitated to speak, I responded in a purely indifferent manner.

“……that’s true. It’s as you say. The Anderson Marquis House itself will come to an end. The fate of the entire family will be determined by this final battle.”

Father gave a faint smile as he said that.

That smile could only be described using words like [fleeting] – a word he normally would have no relation with if it were the usual him.

“What are you going to do with Mellice?”

Suddenly, I asked that of Father.

“She is already someone of the Armelia Ducal House. That is why, if she’s able to live her days out happily in that house…….then that would be for the best.”

“……indeed.”

And with Father’s words, I also made a fleeting, yet resolved smile in agreement.


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in CSWH and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to CSWH Chapter 127

  1. Pingback: CSWH Chapter 128 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.