CSWH Chapter 129

CSWH Chapter 129: My Lamentation

Two weeks have passed since I encountered Edgar-sama at the library.

I still have not been able to see Rui.

It feels as though the last time we met was in the distant past.

……though even up until now, it’s not like we’ve been able to meet all that frequently either.

Despite that, why do I feel so lonely and forlorn?

As though to vent such feelings, I subconsciously ended up throwing myself into training.

The sound of me swinging my sword resounded in this place with nobody else around.

After finishing training, I returned to my room to change, and then headed to the dining hall.

“Eh……”

On my way there, I caught a glimpse of Rui, who I haven’t seen at all recently.

Rui also appeared to notice me, as he approached steadily.

“My……Rui-sama, good day. How are you today?”

Naturally, this hallway had students other than myself present, so I used a more polite way of speaking than usual.

“Mellice. Do you have a bit?”

Though class would soon be starting, upon sensing the unease and seriousness that oozed from his words, I reflexively nodded.

“Y-Yes……of course.”

And then, Rui took my hand and headed towards the school gate.

“……wait a second. Where are we going?”

After entering the carriage that was stopped by the gates, I questioned him.

“……we figured out the perpetrator of the recent case.”

“Was is someone from Rinmel Principality? Or Tasmeria Kingdom?”

“Both.”

“Is that so……well, it’s good that you figured it out. So, just who……”

“……we’ll talk about things in detail after reaching the Armelia Ducal House. We can’t be sure that nobody will overhear us here.”

“T-True……”

The carriage continued to advance amidst the heavy mood.

Once we arrived at the Armelia Ducal House, I was immediately brought to the study.

Romel-sama was not in it.

“……sit there. This’ll be long.”

As instructed, I sat in the chair.

“So? Who was responsible for the attack on the important persons of Rinmel Principality? And, who was the conspirator?”

“……the eldest son of the Sligar Ducal House, Cordis Sligar. He was the main culprit that founded this plot.”

“Cordis Sligar? He wasn’t included amongst the visitors this time, was he?”

“I’ll talk about everything from the beginning. Listen to me first.”

And then, what he spoke of were the achievements that Romel-sama and he had made, unbeknownst to me.

Romel-sama had come into contact with the moderate faction, neutral faction, as well as the diehard faction of Rinmel Principality and negotiated with them.

They discovered Earl Talbot’s treachery and dealt with it.

“……so Romel-sama visited the Rinmel Principality for a period of time.”

“Yeah.”

After that, Rui’s story continued further.

While Romel-sama was handling matters in the Rinmel Principality, Rui acted on Romel-sama’s behalf for his regular duties and was responsible for the investigation of the Anderson Marquis House.

The subject of his investigation was the whereabouts of the iron embezzled by Wiel-oji-sama. 

“Uncle embezzled iron? Don’t tell me……he made weapons with it……?”

“That’s right.”

Hearing Rui reply in the affirmative, I felt all the strength drain from my whole body.

Secretly preparing a large number of weapons……no matter how you thought about it, that could only lead to things going in a bad direction.

“If you’re speaking of this now then……a connection was found between the two matters?”

All I could do was laugh now.

Seeing my reaction, Rui’s face momentarily warped.

“Yeah……everything was in the palm of Cordis Sligar’s hand.”

“Everything?”

“Everything. The one who sent merchants proposing the idea of a slave trade to the Baskar Ducal House, the plan to have all of the Dukes of the Principality murdered together with their family in Tasmeria Kingdom……and the conspiracy with Wiel-dono. All of it was Cordis.”

“I see……though you said that a portion of the iron had made its way into the Rinmel Principality, would it be fine to assume that the rest of it is still with the Anderson Marquis House?”

“Yeah, that’s right. We’ve already determined where it’s being hidden.”

“In other words, Uncle desires the position of head of the Anderson Marquis House……no, not just that. He’s plotting to work together with the Rinmel Principality to usurp the throne of Tasmeria Kingdom. Is that assumption correct?”

At my question, Rui faintly hesitated before nodding.

“Have you told my Father about this?”

“……I have. My Father spoke to Gazelle-dono.”

“I see……if it’s Father, then he likely wishes for family to settle the disgrace that family has wrought.”

Father will probably make a move himself.

And he will do it without utilizing any personnel from the Army.

……even if that means that he’d be put at an overwhelming disadvantage in numbers.

No……not only that, but the moment he realized that he was in an overwhelmingly disadvantaged position, he’d likely even push the Guard Corps away from him.

“……I’m sorry, Rui.”

I quietly stood up and hugged Rui.

Rui encircled me with his arms and accepted my hug.

“I’m sorry……Rui.”

I once again murmured the same words.

“……what is it, Melly?”

Even if he is fighting an unfavourable battle, Father still will not seek out help from anyone.

I cannot abandon such a Father.

And even if he successfully manages to repel Uncle and his party, the Anderson Marquis House’s name will fall into the mud.

I am no longer suitable to be Rui’s wife……to be the fiancée of the next head of the Armelia Ducal House.

“I will head to the Anderson Marquis territory. Right now, even having one more person to help in battle will help him out.”

“……you can’t.”

Surprised at Rui’s denial, I raised my head.

“Gazelle-dono has already started to move.”

Hearing those words, I reflexively stiffened.

“Just when did Romel-sama tell Father about this matter……?”

“……two weeks ago.”

“No way……! Why didn’t you tell me about it then!?”

“I was told by Gazelle-dono…….to not tell you. To not involve you, who is to marry into the Armelia Ducal House, into the Anderson Marquis House’s matters.”

“Are you telling me to just bite my fingers while watching the Anderson Marquis House’s fate from afar……if I do that while my important people are heading to the battlefield, then why have I……”

I hung my head as I spoke.

I understood the reason why Father did that.

He probably made this choice in consideration for me, so that hopefully I alone would not receive any blame for the sins of the Anderson Marquis House.

However, there’s no way I could simply sit down and watch without thinking anything of it.

There’s absolutely no way I could.

I felt so frustrated, that tears started to overflow.

……even though they’re rushing forth on horseback.

……even though my important people are fighting right this instant.

I alone have been living normally, completely unaware.

Even if I understand Father and Brother’s gentle wish……even then, I cannot help but detest myself for being unable to do anything while everyone else is fighting.

And above all else……I was worried about everyone.

Softly, his hand touched my cheek.

I meekly accepted as his hand wiped my tears away.


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>


Translator Comments:

I honestly don’t remember how I’ve translated ‘ojisama’ in the past or if Melly’s ever directly spoken about Wiel before. For the time being, I’ve turned “Ojisama” into “Uncle” and left “Wiel-oji-sama” as it is, since I usually leave the suffixes as they are. Sorry if there’s any inconsistencies there, it really does feel like it’s been a while since we’ve last had any proper chapters from Melly’s POV.

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in CSWH and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to CSWH Chapter 129

  1. zekkendo says:

    Wao. Not just a Melly chapter, but a MelllyRui chapter. Merry Christmas.

    Like

  2. Pingback: CSWH Chapter 130 | Kiriko Translations

  3. Scoob says:

    I continue reading because I’m curious about the end but I really don’t like how the often withhold information on important matters. That and how little romance there is. This story is more about political conversation. Mellicent And Rui seem more like partners.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.