CSWH Chapter 142

This is the final Christmas release! Merry Christmas~ only two more chapters until the end of Common Sense of a Warrior House!


CSWH Chapter 142: Rendezvous with Him

After leaving the Madam’s store, I headed to the Armelia Ducal House.

Presently, I was the only one staying at the Anderson Marquis residence in the Capital.

Since Father and Elder Brother were occupied with dealing with the aftermath of Wiel’s case, they could not leave the Anderson territory.

While there were servants around, I did not feel like returning to a mansion with none of my family nor people I was close to in it……and as Rui was also worried about my feelings, I ended up staying at the Armelia Ducal House.

“Thank you for accompanying me today……and for letting me stay at the Armelia house like this……”

“Both of those are just me doing as I pleased…….so, don’t mind it too much.”

We were currently in the salon.

When I couldn’t sleep and went to the library, I coincidentally bumped into Rui and so the both of us headed for the salon together. 

“……you’re blessed with good comrades.”

I quickly understood who he was talking about.

“Yes……I really am. Even after learning that I was Mellice, they didn’t change. Of course, I did ask that of them too but……”

“The fact that they responded to that in kind shows that they are good people, and that you had attained that much trust from them.”

Rui gently touched my cheek in worry.

“……have you become able to sleep?”

“Yes……I’ve been able to collect my thoughts a little.”

Lately, I have been unable to sleep.

A sense of loss that made it feel as though a gaping hole had been left behind was constantly pressing down on my chest.

“What about you……just when I thought your work had calmed down, are you still spending nights sleeplessly?”

And that was the same for him as well.

Faint shadows had appeared underneath his eyes.

“I suppose so…….I’m sure that Father is the same. After losing Mother, all that was left were our accumulated regrets.”

Aurelia-sama passed away.

Apparently, her condition had been going down since before the battle at Rinmel Principality.

And just recently, her funeral was held solemnly.

A large number of attendees gathered, creating a scene that extolled the heights of Aurelia-sama’s natural virtue.

Romel-sama said, “I was completely preoccupied with my governmental duties, and wasn’t able to do anything for her”, and was terribly depressed for a while…….but maybe because Father said something to him, after staying up all night with Father, he returned to his duties.

While I was really curious about what Father told him……as fellow widowers, they may have been able to sympathize with each other somehow.

For the time being, Romel-sama at least appeared energetic on the surface. While it may only be a superficial liveliness, seeing it relieved me.

Because before this, he wasn’t even able to keep up appearances.

Rui was also in terribly low spirits, to the point where I couldn’t bear to watch him.

……though I also received an awful shock from Aurelia-sama’s death.

Because even to me, Aurelia-sama was an existence like my Mother.

……I had not yet gotten over the deaths of Anna, Abel-san, and the members of the Guard Corps, and Granny. Having Aurelia-sama pass away on top of that……for a while, I was unable to sleep well.

And thus, Rui was concerned about me staying in the Capital’s Anderson residence without anyone else in it, and recommended that I stay in the Armelia Ducal House’s mansion with him. 

“……but, I was thinking of joining in on today’s gathering. So that I won’t just keep drowning in regret, and instead be able to smile while talking about my memories with Mother.”

“Yes……that’s good. I’ve also finally become able to think like that.”

The both of us started to talk about Aurelia-sama.

At times, we’d laugh while yearning for the past.

“……now that I think of it, will you be going to the Academy tomorrow?”

“Yes. That is the plan…….though, as expected, I cannot exactly go directly from here, so I intend on returning to the Anderson House first before heading over.”

“Do you need to pick something up?”

“No……I’ve brought everything I need with me here……”

I felt awkward about heading directly from the Armelia Ducal House.

While there was a reason for it, it wasn’t very good for it to be discovered that I was staying in my fiancé’s house.

“Then you should ride on the same carriage as me…….it is acceptable to be picked up by your fiancé, right?”

“……that’s true. Then I suppose I will take you up on that offer.”

However, it should be fine if I gave that sort of explanation when asked……-and so, I decided to accept his offer.

“Speaking of the Acaedmy……Prince Edgar’s engagement has been decided.”

“Yes…….to my precious friend.”

While the Armelia Ducal House and Anderson Marquis House were preoccupied with the Rinmel Principality dispute, Sharia’s engagement was decided.

Moreover, Elia was also placed into the position of concubine.

“Father was quite bitter……at Prince Edgar’s sudden attack.”

“Yes, no doubt…….if Prince Edgar had not tried to handle everything himself, and had instead relied on Romel-sama……they could have come up with a plan to make Sharia the legitimate queen even without turning Elia into a concubine.”

To both me and the Armelia Ducal House, Edgar-sama’s actions……came completely out of the left field.

While we were handling matters with the Rinmel Principality, Prince Edgar went off on his own to dispute with other nobles, and succeeded in making Sharia his queen, in accordance to his wishes.

……the price of that was taking Elia in as a concubine.

However, that was a bad move.

Elia was the daughter of the Maelian Marquis House that was at its height of power.

In contrast, while Sharia was from a Count’s House, they did not have nearly as much influence as the Maelian Marquis House.

Despite that, Sharia was the queen while Elia was the concubine. 

It was clear as day that this would become the spark of a great power struggle.

That being said, things were already decided.

Unless some incident were to occur……this decision could not be overruled.

However, if such a matter were to occur, both Sharia’s honour and the Royal Family’s prestige would take a hit.

As such, our hands were tied.

“Well……when thinking about the future, Father may have rejected Prince Edgar’s request. That is why, in a certain sense, Prince Edgar’s actions were correct to Prince Edgar.”

“[Correct] to Prince Edgar, huh……”

I let out an involuntary sigh.

“Be that as it may, with things having reached this point……I will move to support Sharia, which should help balance the power within the palace.”

“Yeah, that should be fine…….oh, it’s about time to sleep. Tomorrow we’re going to the Academy, right?”

“Yes, indeed.”

I gave him a kiss, and then returned to my bedroom.


<–Previous Chapter | Next Chapter–>

About Kiriko

A young neko that enjoys frolicking around the net. Often has to run away from certain individual(s).
This entry was posted in CSWH and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CSWH Chapter 142

  1. Pingback: CSWH Chapter 141 | Kiriko Translations

  2. Pingback: CSWH Chapter 143 | Kiriko Translations

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.